Roast Beef with Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
The smell that filled the house was incredible! I didn't make the gravy, but I will next time. It was so moist it was falling apart in the crock pot. I did it a little longer than 3 hours, and it was delish. I'm about to heat some up now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I had actually given up on cooking a roast because they always came out dry and tough. But I decided to give another recipe a chance and tried this one. This was the easiest, tenderest roast I have ever cooked. I didn't add the garlic because we don't like a lot of garlic and my family ate the whole roast. No leftovers!! My 12 year old grandson that won't eat anything that doesn't come from a fast food restaurant ate 3 helpings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
It was a good roast, we couldn't especially taste the coffee. I added even more coffee then was suggested because I was cooking it longer then the time recommended. So I guess my question is what does the coffee do for the roast? Is it just flavoring or is there some other factor I'm missing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I found this roast to be somewhat tough, but perhaps it was our cut of meat. Also, I am a nursing mother, and after eating this my baby would not fall asleep! If you are sensitive to caffine or a nursing mom, perhaps use decaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This turned out to be probably the best roast I've ever prepared..hubby thought so too! I did add a 14 oz. can of condensed beef broth and I also added potatoes to the slow cooker. Also added extra corstarch since I had more liquid. Wonderful recipe!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
pork roast too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I read the reviews and was really anxious to try what I thought was a simple roast beef recipe in the crockpot. Since I love coffee I also thought it would be great. Before I made this I read lots of reviews and decided to make according to the exact recipe this first time and not "experiment". I followed the recipe to a T and it was very dry and very bitter taste from the coffee. The gravy had no flavor and even salt and pepper did not help from tasting like burnt coffee. The best part of the meal was I did make homemade mashed potatoes...not from the box! But even these had to have butter on them since the gravy was so bad! We ate one helping and I'm proud of my 2 teens for at least eating it for Sunday dinner. Will not make again!!! It puzzles me that so many raved and raved about it! What did I do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Blissfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I used a large bone-in beef blade roast. I did marinate/soak it in a cup of vinegar as someone suggested, although it may because I didn't use the red wine variety that it didn't tenderize enough. Seasoned it with minced garlic, onion powder, salt and pepper. Next time I will also rub it down with some Worcestershire sauce for added flavour. I used instant espresso powder, about 2 TBsps. to a cup of water. Also added a half cup of water to ensure there was enough liquid in the pan so it wouldn't burn. Cooked it in the oven for about 2 hours. This cut of meat would do best in a slow cooker though, since it wasn't as tender as I'd hoped. The gravy itself had a nice consistency, but I did need to add about 1 tsp. or so of sugar to tone down the bitter aftertaste. This definitely mellowed out the bitterness of the espresso. Served this with some white rice and steamed vegetables. Not sure if I'd make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I had to add extra water to it, so it wouldnt dry out... It turned out to be very delicious and moist...my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States