Roast Beef with Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My mom first made this for us about 30 years ago and it has been a favorite since that time. Thank you so much for reminding me of this one. I'll be making this sometime this Fall/Winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I don't understand why everyone thought this was so great. I thought it just tasted like pot roast. Nothing special. My husband felt the same. I don't make any recipes I find here until I read 95% of the reviews. We were very dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This turned out pretty good but I wish I rubbed a bit more seasoning on the roast prior to putting in the slow cooker. I used some of the tricks mentioned in other reviews like marinating it in red wine vinegar for a few hours. I also added 1/2 can of beef broth. The meat was very tender and juicy after 6 hours of cooking on low. Try rubbing it with a lot of salt/pepper/garlic/onion powder...whatever you like prior to cooking for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is excellent...I would add one suggestion that I always used when I had my cafe....I would deep brown the roast in coffee and garlic atop the stove before putting in the oven on a very slow bake. The dark color not only looks great but adds to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was really good. I left it on low in my slow cooker for 8 hours and it was really tender. I took a couple of other reviewers tips, added a teaspoon of sugar to the coffee to offset any bitterness, and added some vegeta for flavour. Even my 13 yr old who doesn't like coffee liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
The best roast beef I have ever had. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is an excellent, affordable & easy dinner. Try mixing in 1 pouch of onion soup mix. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mt. Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I've made this recipe in a roasting bag always. Just follow the directions on the roasting bag per lb of meat. I use 2 cups of strong left over coffee from the morning. I slice the roast and insert cloves of garlic but that's it. They say not to add salt and pepper but I always do. I cook my potatoes, carrots and onions separately. The coffee really does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I've cooked various cuts of both beef AND pork with coffee for years..so many, in fact,that I don't remember how it started. The coffee adds a depth and richness of color that doesn't happen with baking alone. It also enhances the flavor. Living in the south, red-eye gravy was the first time I'd ever heard of using coffee, but now I add it to nearly every kind of gravy I make - beef, pork, chicken, turkey, and sausage. I also keep a small jar of instant coffee on hand and use a teaspoon or two in certain soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
very easy recipe ,very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States