Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I've read every review and haven't seen the way my mother-in-law used to make the Yorkshire pudding. Here is how she always served it. Baked in a pie plate as is this recipe, but served by sprinkling sugar on top and squeezing lemon juice on top of that before cutting! I had never eaten it before so this is the only way I know it to taste. It's great! Try it, you'll like it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Eeewww....meat was tough and tasteless...the pudding/bread/pop-over things were dense rounds of congealed baked goo. (My son, reading over my shoulder now, is suggesting I reduce this rating further to a ONE!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Very tasty. I used the advice of others and sprinkled a generous amount of Montreal steak spice over the entire roast after brushing it with mustard. I reduced the temperature to 325 for remainder of cooking time rather than turning oven off, resulting in a medium roast. The pan drippings made awesome gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I really did not care for this recipe. I found it very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_a_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I only made the Yorkshire Pudding. I used about 1/2 inch of veggie oil instead of drippings (I like to save all the drippings I get for gravy!) I added an extra egg by mistake and heated the muffin tin in a 450 degree oven. (important!) I've found that the trick to perfect Yorkshire pudding is NOT TO OPEN THE OVEN during the first 3/4 of baking time. My puddings were perfect. I'm never swerving from this recipe; I've made it 6 times now and each time it's been PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I keep trying new recipes in the anticipation of a visit from my Vegetarian British grand-daughter-in-law this summer. I can make, for her Yorkshire Pudding using butter instead of pan drippings. Later I will revert to the original traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Excellent, especially the Yorkshire puds. Rather than waste the vegetables by roasting the meat on top of them and discarding them as one reviewer suggested, I too removed the rack but lined the roasting dish with non stick foil. I then added pieces of carrot, parsnip, kumara (orange yam), potatoes and butternut squash all tossed in olive oil and salted to taste, in with the beef for about 90 mins. Served it all with rich gravy and...viola! Sunday roast to die for. Sadly though not a scrap leftover for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
My first time making roast; I used an outside round oven roast. It was so simple and good, and the Yorkshire pudding was very good too, only they stuck to the muffin tin, so next time I think I need more drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Just like I remember it being made. Well done thisone was. The directions rather, not the beef. Yorkshire pudding, btw, at its best. Sure, you can use the butter as opposed to the pan drippings, but then again, why bother going thru the entire mess if your not willing to go 100%, nu? And isn't your family worth it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Roast beef was Great! I had never yorkshire pudding before, it turned out some what blan. That could be normal I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States