Roast Beef and Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
The roast beef turned out wonderfully tender and my first attempt at making Yorkshire pudding worked! It puffed up nicely. So, I guess I should have served it with some gravy as that was how I was told to eat it when I visited my friends in England, but I forgot... Next time, I will whip up some gravy to serve with the Yorkshire pudding and roast beef. Thank you for a simple yet tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Fab! Our Sunday traditional well. Recipe is simple because with traditional Sunday roasts and puddings, less is more. Well done and thanks so much for posting :) xxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Got this recipe for the yorkshire pudding. The mix was just like store bought but tasted a whole lot better! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Paul, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The beef was good. My first time having Yorkshire pudding, so I don't know if they were good or bad. Not a popover fan, so as I expected, these won't be going into my rotation, but that is strictly a personal choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizajane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I lived in England for 3 years, and my children were born there. Roast beef and Yorkshire pudding was my favorite meal there, and this recipe tastes the same! I would suggest you take the puds out of the pan when they are done so they don't get flat and chewy. Learned that the hard way! They were still good, though! I added potatoes and carrots to the roasting pan, and they were a great addition! Perfect Sunday meal, and leftover roast for sandwiches if you make a larger one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is my families first time having the pudding and everyone loved it. I didn't alter the recipe at all. Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
The roast was good, I but would have preferred more salt. I did sear the outside. Also, I peeled 4 large carrots and layed them in a row on the bottom of the pan. Rested the meat on top and placed sweet potato, red potato, onion, celery, carrots and butternut squash (all quartered or chopped) around the roast. When done, the roast was perfectly pink inside and the vegetables were nicely roasted. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and cooked the pudding in a cast-iron skillet. I followed the directions to the t and it came out so good. Though I've had it many times growing up, I never tried to make it and I was very proud of myself. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was very good. I added sliced garlic on top of the meat and then sliced peppered bacon. Loved the yorkshire pudding. I have been making the pudding as a breakfast food all my life but having it as a savory side was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Rump roast is definitely NOT the cut of beef to use if you are planning yorkies and gravy IMHO. Rump roasts are much too lean and produce very little, if any, drippings. I made my yorkies in some leftover bacon fat in a 10 inch cast iron and they were light and delicious. The roast was cooked a perfect medium rare. But both would have much better with some gravy. A fattier cut of meat, such as a rib roast, would greatly improve this whole meal. The leftovers made a delicious beef vegetable soup. I added diced bits of the leftover yorkie to the soup. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Added some onion powder to the rub and roasted the beef to perfection. Pink in the middle but not raw. A one-pound roast cooked perfectly in about 35 minutes. Let it rest for 10 minutes. I've never tried making Yorkshire pudding before. They're quite easy, actually, and quite tasty. I see why people like them. This British meal is ... brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States