Roast Beef and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
My husband, my son and I had this for supper. WOW!!! I used a beef blade roast and it just fell apart. First, I seared the roast in a frying pan. After placing the roast in the slow cooker, I added a glass of water to the brownings and scraped them off off the pan. I used the water and Brownings instead of regular beef broth. I mixed the two cans of mushroom soup with two cans of water. I then added the dry onion soup mix to the other soup and mixed it together.. I then poured the soup and browning mixes onto the roast. I did not use sherry or wine or any substitutes for them. Once I got the slow cooker warmed and the roast to start cooking, I added a small pinch of each Rosemary and thyme. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This recipes makes fantastic gravy....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri
Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I used less of the onion soup mixture than requested in the recipe, and I seared the meat first and deglazed the pan with the beef broth for added flavor. It was an easy and delicious. I’ll be making this again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Fantastic! I used a Sirloin Tip Roast instead of Chuck roast, and the meat was falling apart. Pair it with homemade mashed potatoes, and I'm looking forward to leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I cooked this last night (in lieu of the stroganoff) and it came out WONDERFULLY! Even though I didn't have beef broth (just used water), the gravy was still #BOMBdotCom About an hour before it was done, I added stew veggies (carrots, potatos, celery, lima bean, pees, etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WillieStylez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
blah mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Buckingham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I was looking for a nice and easy beef and gravy recipe and had all of the ingredients on hand so decided to make this. I am not a fan of the soup mix packets since they're so salty, so I just made my own using a few simple ingredients. I added a handful of chopped mushrooms about halfway through cooking time. I halved the recipe. It did not need to cook on low the same amount of time. Probably about 6 hours. The gravy was a bit thin but the dish was altogether amazing! I was very happy with how delicious it turned out and how simple it was to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
So heres the deal....I don't own a crock pot, because my hubby hates them he thinks the house is going to burn down and food comes out mushy. So I had to improvise because the ingredients looked good. I cooked at 350 for 2 hours in the oven with all ingredients and added fresh onion and garlic and used 1/2 of the onion soup mix as a rub. What I will do differently is add the soup and broth 3/4 to half way through because my roast came out well done on the bottom and med rare on the top, which kind of worked out for us because he likes well done and I like rare. We'll see next time, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I believe in following the recipes that people post as they are, and this recipe wasn't lacking a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This was awesome! Didn't change anything just added a little rosemary and pepper and some onions. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States