Roast Beef and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Excellent! My family and I absolutely loved this and it has become a regular menu item ay our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very good recipe. The meat was very tender and the gravy was delicioius. Will definately make again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is absolutely a terrific recipe!!!! So simple and very very delicious just as it is! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Really great and easy. I usually use red wine, but liked it very much with sherry for a change (not cooking sherry, buy a decent brand, then you can have some for yourself). The meat and the gravy is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA HUME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
We made this last night---and it was soooooooo good!! I added some more mushrooms to the mix (1 jar drained) and about an hour before serving, I added some diluted cornstarch to thicken the gravy. As sides we had garlic mashed potatoes and sauteed garlic green beans. We will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smhawk0908

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Excellent roast beef recipe and SO easy. The only thing I did differently was quickly browned my chuck roast on all sides in a little olive oil before placing in crockpot. Since we are mushrooms lovers, I sautéed some fresh mushrooms in the same pan and added them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe described, but was short on time, so I cooked it on high for 4 hours and it turned out out GREAT!! My oldest son actually huged me and thanked me. He went back for a 3rd helping. I added alittle cornstartch to the gravy and it was wonderful. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was the BEST pot roast I have ever eaten! I think the secret is that there is plenty of gravy, which keeps the meat moist. It was falling apart after 8 hours, super tender! I will definitely make this again. The best part is that you can throw this together before you go to work, it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I cooked this recipe according to directions and it was divine. This recipe was a big hit with my husband who was so impressed he immediately posted a picture on his Facebook labeled "My Wife has outdone herself again". If he only knew how simple it was. Thanks for sharing. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Fantastic! Loved by the kids and the grandparents. Made a LOT of gravy, so I might half that next time or re-use on a second roast. I used a 4 lb roast and browned it first, but otherwise followed exactly. As an alternative to mashed potatos, I served it with the roasted "Beets n Sweets" recipe on this site (with regular potatos added). The gravy meshed really well the roasted potatos and vegies. An absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States