Roast Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a fabulous recipe. I've made it twice now, the first time I didn't have the tarragon or tarragon vinegar so I substituted red wine and herbs de Provence, which is one of my favorite herb blends and it was so good. The second time I decided to follow the recipe exactly and it was even better. The beef is so tender and it absorbs the flavor all the way through the meat. I was curious as to the cost so I made my grocery trip specifically to pick up the ingredients, which came to around $65 total. I will do this again, probably for a special occasion meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This was amazing! Definitely will make it again. I personally added a little too much salt, but the tenderloin and sauce were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Gould

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Just made this for Easter dinner; absolutely FANTASTIC! Chef John is the best. Keep them coming, Chef. I'll try anything you post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This recipe is unbelievably good. I've cooked it twice now and everyone raves about it. I used a white balsamic vinegar the first time and it was amazing. The second time I used a mix of red whine vinegar and cider vinegar and it was a bit too strong of a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I followed the directions EXACTLY. Wow, what a wonderful roast. I've never made any roast before and was so happy with how it turned out the very first time. This was our holiday main course, I'll be making this again for special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This dish, simply put, is the most delicious thing I've ever eaten. I didn't have tarragon vinegar and substituted with balsamic, with fresh tarragon sautéed in before the roast went into the oven, and then added more tarragon in the stage that renders the sauce after the roast came out of the oven. I made some mascarpone mashed potatoes and the sauce with this roast was a perfect combination with the sweet, creaminess of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was such a great edition to my holiday menu. I truly enjoyed as did my family this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My family just told me this was the best roast beef they've ever had! Even with numerous improvisations (I didn't have porcinis or tarragon on hand) it was so moist and the sauce SO flavorful and delish! Thank you so much for a wonderful Sunday night special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this with a couple of substitutions as I could not find the right mushrooms (used brown) or the veal stock (used chicken), and I also used balsamic vinegar. It still turned out really well. Next time I will find all the ingredients in advance, but this recipe is definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne Eddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was wonderful. My family loved it. I watched the video first, which was very helpful. The tenderloin was just like the video and the sauce was full of great flavor. By having the ingredients measured and ready, everything went together easily. Except for the fresh tarragon, some of the sauce ingredients could be substituted with "like" items, without losing the basic flavoring. Will include this in my favorite recipes. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States