Roast Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipe was delicious!! The tenderloin was cooked to perfection. The sauce was pretty good but the tenderloin would have been delicious without the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Wow! This was amazing!! Absolutely as good as you would get in a 5-star restaurant. I followed the directions exactly. Had to go to a couple of grocery stores to find veal stock and tarragon vinegar, but I think using all the recommended ingredients was key. This was our Christmas dinner this year and everyone raved. Can't thank you enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
AMAZING! I love, love, love this recipe. It turned out perfect. I was nervous about cooking the roast in the oven thinking it wouldn't be moist but boy was it ever. It was so moist you didn't even need a knife to cut it. The only change I made was using red wine vinegar instead of tarragon vinegar simply because I couldn't find any. This is a definite must try because anyone you follows the directions will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Hill Gooch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I've made this twice. The first time I followed it to a tee, except I screwed up and added a bit to much salt. The second time, I made a couple of changes/additions, and it turned out to be one of the best things I've ever tasted. I used red wine instead of the vinegar, used a little less tarragon, and I stirred in 2-3oz of goat cheese right at the end. The goat cheese totally changed the taste of the sauce from really good, to amazing! When doesn't goat cheese make things better? Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This roast is so delicious. I followed the recipe to a T (as I always do with Chef John's recipes) and it was so simple to make. The sauce was divine and my family likes a lot of sauce so I doubled the sauce and it was PERFECT. Now I am just hoping Chef John can post another recipe where I can get rid of the rest of these porcini's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
FANTASTIC! flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ole' Glory farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I've made this recipe twice now. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out wonderful! Definitely will use this recipe every time I make tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
A superb recipe, and my family would give it 10 stars if we could. As I didn't have some of the items I improvised :) I used a Topside Beef Roast, I couldn't find Taragon Vinegar, so used Red Wine instead. Also didn't have fresh Taragon so used approx. 3/4 tablespoon of dried Taragon. Everyone LOVED it. It was so tender and the sauce is excellent. This is a definite keeper. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan's Plan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Motherwell, Lanarkshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Interesting recipe actually.....a bit time consuming to prepare....I used balsamic vinegar instead of the tarragon vinegar because I could not find any in the grocery store. Sauce was excellent....the meat is a beautiful cut of meat but so expensive....we will try it with a different cut of meat and see how it turns out. Tenderloin is definitely great for special celebrations though. Quite good and it deserves 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner last year and it was incredible! The meat was fork tender and the sauce added a very good flavor to the dish. I roasted Russian finger Potatoes under the broiler with some EVOO and added them in after everything was done, just like the main photo. I followed the recipe to a T except the veal stock which I could not find so I used beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States