Roast Beef Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipe was delicious!! The tenderloin was cooked to perfection. The sauce was pretty good but the tenderloin would have been delicious without the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
A superb recipe, and my family would give it 10 stars if we could. As I didn't have some of the items I improvised :) I used a Topside Beef Roast, I couldn't find Taragon Vinegar, so used Red Wine instead. Also didn't have fresh Taragon so used approx. 3/4 tablespoon of dried Taragon. Everyone LOVED it. It was so tender and the sauce is excellent. This is a definite keeper. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan's Plan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Motherwell, Lanarkshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This roast is so delicious. I followed the recipe to a T (as I always do with Chef John's recipes) and it was so simple to make. The sauce was divine and my family likes a lot of sauce so I doubled the sauce and it was PERFECT. Now I am just hoping Chef John can post another recipe where I can get rid of the rest of these porcini's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I've made this twice. The first time I followed it to a tee, except I screwed up and added a bit to much salt. The second time, I made a couple of changes/additions, and it turned out to be one of the best things I've ever tasted. I used red wine instead of the vinegar, used a little less tarragon, and I stirred in 2-3oz of goat cheese right at the end. The goat cheese totally changed the taste of the sauce from really good, to amazing! When doesn't goat cheese make things better? Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Wow! This was amazing!! Absolutely as good as you would get in a 5-star restaurant. I followed the directions exactly. Had to go to a couple of grocery stores to find veal stock and tarragon vinegar, but I think using all the recommended ingredients was key. This was our Christmas dinner this year and everyone raved. Can't thank you enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
FANTASTIC! flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ole' Glory farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
the roast was tender, but when I combined the cream with the vinegar and broth, it appeared the cream curdled, what did I do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I am considered a very good cook, but when I made this beautiful roast it surpassed anything else I've made. My company was raving days later that they had never had beef as delicious or tender and this was. I also didn't have tarragon vinegar so used white whine vinegar and couldn't find dried porchini mushrooms so used a combo of 3 kinds of mushrooms. I will find the correct ingredients next time. I had just sharpened all my knives and felt like a professional butcher following instructions for trimming and tying the roast. Took the roast out at 128 degrees, let it sit for 40 minutes tented....true perfection. Thank you so much Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Interesting recipe actually.....a bit time consuming to prepare....I used balsamic vinegar instead of the tarragon vinegar because I could not find any in the grocery store. Sauce was excellent....the meat is a beautiful cut of meat but so expensive....we will try it with a different cut of meat and see how it turns out. Tenderloin is definitely great for special celebrations though. Quite good and it deserves 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This was amazing! Definitely will make it again. I personally added a little too much salt, but the tenderloin and sauce were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Gould

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States