Roast Beef Panini with Caramelized Shallots and Roquefort Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Good panini...horseradish sauce was good but, aside from that, it was just a roast beef panini...good, not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Didn't make the horseradish cream, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Pretty good. I liked this concept. My horseradish cream did not come out very strong. Not sure why, I used fresh horseradish root and grated it. The panini did not get as crisp and marked as I hoped, my first time using the panini press. The taste was very good however. Next time will use a less crusty bread. (the bakery suggested I use one with a lot of cunchy exterior for my panini, which I ended up not liking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this at a tailgate on a grill using a cast iron grill and pressed it down with a brick wrapped in foil....I decided to substitute provolone cheese but it was outstanding. Rave reviews from my group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I used blue cheese (it's what I had on hand) instead of roquefort. if you do the same, do reduce the amount, as it will overpower the mildness of the shallots just a little. I used shallots because I had some, but I certainly wouldn't hesitate to use onions if that's all I had. I didn't have any heavy cream, so I just mixed up a sour cream-horseradish sauce which worked well as a sub. I think some sauteed mushrooms would be a good addition to this sandwich. Very nice panini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Great sandwich and easy to make. My 92 year old grandmother who doesn't believe in "fancy" cooking loved it. I used feta instead of Roquefort since I had that (plus it's cheaper) and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Excellent combination of flavors. I used leftover "High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast", thinly sliced. Other than that, I made no changes to the recipe. Next time, I will try it with onions instead of shallots, and I will add a little more horseradish to the sauce. The sauce was tasty, but very mild. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Superb sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States