Roast Beef Hash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
The really popular recipes keep getting more and more reviews and just keep getting more and more popular so I wanted to give an unrated recipe a chance. This is the first time, despite a number of culinary misadventures, that I've had to resort to a backup dinner. Giving the benefit of the doubt, I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with 1 TEASPOON of salt per serving. Had my family eaten this dish, we would have been dessicated corpses come morning. If I hazard a guess through the overriding saltiness, this dish seems like it might have had an interesting flavor. It was too soupy, though, and had to be served in a bowl with spoons instead of the standard plate and fork I would expect with a casserole. I don't think I'm curious enough to even try it again with modifications, but I did return it to the oven with some cut up potatoes to leech the salt to see if any salvaging could be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
After reading the other reviews I improvised this recipe to use the leftover potroast I had (flavored with onions, etc). I used only 1 cup of milk for the sauce, 1/2 t each of curry powder, garlic powder & seasoned salt along with the soup, Worchestershire sauce & paprika. I did not use any additional salt or pepper. I added extra cheese (1 cup total), a can of green beans & some French fried onions on top (last 10 min of baking). The sauce came out thick & very tasty. It smelled wonderful while baking, too! I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I used this basic recipe to use up leftover roast. It was pretty good and quick for a night we didn't have much time for supper. I also cut way back on the milk and spices, as the roast was already seasoned with montreal steak spice from when it was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
We loved the smell of the curry in this recipe, but the dish was unedible. It was much too salty and watery. I added instant mash potatoes at the end to thicken it, but the salt was just too much and I didn't add the full tablespoon it called for?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I did not care for this dish-way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Perhaps the tablespoon of salt is an error? Due to the bad reviews I skipped this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
amazingly simple and wonderful taste will share recipe and make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Needs half the amount of milk listed, and 1/3 of the salt. Other than that, it was a nice change from the same old flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Pure salt to top it off\ totally runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This was not to my taste! Run for the hills. I would suggest not trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States