River Omelets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Hubs liked this better than I did, but then he was unaware of what I perceived as its flaws. I thought it was good, but I think it could be better. First, don't beat the eggs with an electric mixer. A lot of air is beaten into them that way and the resulting air bubbles will be evident in your omelet. I just use a wire whisk and whisk them until thoroughly combined. Second, I'm not sure I like the addition of the tomatoes and I would saute the mushrooms first. Both release so much of their juices that it sort of pooled in the center of the omelet, more or less forcing me to bake the eggs longer than I would have liked to just so the juices would be absorbed. And I even seeded the tomatoes first! I can't imagine how much longer I might have had to bake this if I hadn't. And I would definitely recommend sauteeing the mushrooms before adding, along with any other vegetables you might choose to add like chopped peppers, onions, or zucchini. Finally, I didn't cover this. By doing so you prevent the omelet from turning a nice golden brown. Given my criticisms I would rate this only average, three stars, but since Hubs gave this a solid four (not knowing, of course, its challenges), I'll leave it at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
We omitted the olives and bacon, cooked uncovered 25 minutes (instead of covered for 40), shredded the cheese right over, melted it back in the oven, and it was perfect. Light and fluffy. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I love this recipe, it's easy and good. I made this for the men's prayer breakfast at our church. Everyone seemed to like it. I made two with just bacon and cheese for the kids (they're picky) and one with everything. The only thing I changed on the one I made for the adults was I added green peppers and regular onions instead of the green onions. I also did 1 1/2 times the recipe so I could use a 9" x 13" pan. I cooked each at 400 degrees for 24-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is so good!! The taste was excellent and the presentation is beautiful. I made this for a church brunch, and it was a total success!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Delicious for breakfast or brunch, but be sure to sautee your veggies first before adding. Also, I didn't bother with an electric mixer - an unnecessary step in my opinion. Other than that this is very easy and very tasty - perfect to adjust to your our tastes by adding in your own assortment of veggies, meats or cheeses. Great with a side of toast and fresh fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Great recipe - we enjoyed the flavor, the texture, the color. To make it a bit healthier we used Egg Beaters rather than whole eggs. Fluffy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Made this for Sunday brunch for my boyfriend and I. It was VERY GOOD! I added some pepper jack cheese and a some chopped green bell pepper. Also, I baked uncovered for about 10 minutes at the end. Light and fluffy but full of good veggies. Went good with our waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was wonderful! I used bacon and ham, green pepper and picante sauce in place of the tomatoes and olives. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
My husband and I grilled some shrimp shish-k-bobs on labor day and we substituted some of the left overs. Our ingredients included shrimp, bell peppers, onions, mushrooms, black olives tomatoes, colby & montery jack cheese and some hot pepper flakes. Preparation was a lot of fun and the outcome was scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Marion, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made this with extra-sharp Cheddar cheese along with some bagged Five Cheese Blend, and used regular onions instead of green. Thirty minutes in the oven was enough. This was so quick and easy. Thanks, Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States