River Omelets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe - I don't think I've ever made a baked omelet before. I had exactly 10 eggs I needed to use up, and this recipe fit the bill. I made it pretty much as written. For the hot pepper sauce, I used 1/2 tsp. (about 4 dashes, I think) of Tabasco sauce, and for the olives I opted for sliced ones (a 3.8 oz. can) instead of whole, so they'd disperse better in the dish. At 40 minutes the eggs didn't look quite set enough in the center, so I went the full 50 minutes, and the dish was pretty near perfect. I had it for 3 consecutive breakfasts, and I should note that the leftovers were able to be refrigerated and reheated just fine. I enjoyed this a lot - the ingredients were a lively, tasty mix. I personally would always prefer even more bacon (and/or other meats) and cheese inside an omelet, but I'll still give this a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was awesome! It was aromatic in the oven, the tomatoes were not overcooked and I added a can of green chilies and left out the bacon and the olives as I had none. I have chickens too and this is a great way to cook eggs for dinner:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Im a mother of 3 and own my own laying hen's, so this a an easy, fast , healthy way to feed the family and use up the over abundance of eggs I get from my hen's(They take thier job very seriously :) I change the recipe a little too. I used 1/2 cup half/half and used cooked ham and 1 1/2 c. medium cheddar cheese...Turned out great! Thank you! I didnt add olives due to to many family members not liking them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancypants4569

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I served this as a special brunch for my wife on Christmas day. I screwed the recipe up a little... I guess. I like to eat picante sauce on my eggs, and so does my wife. I thought it would be okay to chop up some jalapenos and throw them into the mix. Well, the peppers were not a hit. I thought it tasted pretty good, so I ended up eating most of it myself. Anyhow, I guess you shouldn't mess with perfection. ;) I will definitely try this again, and next time I won't change anything. Otherwise, I really like lots of "stuff" in my eggs (and omelets)--this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Easy, one dish meal for dinner or breakfast. The nice thing about this recipe is you can add just about anything to suit your taste buds. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was a big hit with my family.Great Sunday night dinner. I added 6 extra eggs, bacon, reg onion, ham, cream instead of milk, fresh mushrooms. It took an hour to cook. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Three stars for ease of recipe. Not a mess to clean up after too. Which was nice. We used ham instead of bacon and red bell pepper instead of olives due to personal preferance. There was almost too much stuff mixed in and not enugh egg. Watch cooking time because ours was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I had some green olives as well, so I put them in. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was delicious, I omitted the olives but otherwise followed the recipe perfectly, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I can't rate this recipe because I altered it so much. I omitted the mushrooms and peppers because I didn't have any. I used yellow onion instead of green, and mozzarella instead of Colby Jack. I added some canned corn to make up the veggies I omitted. I didn't bake my omelet, but used a burner. I also cut the recipe in half. It was really good! Thank you for giving me a stepping stone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States