River Omelets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Hubs liked this better than I did, but then he was unaware of what I perceived as its flaws. I thought it was good, but I think it could be better. First, don't beat the eggs with an electric mixer. A lot of air is beaten into them that way and the resulting air bubbles will be evident in your omelet. I just use a wire whisk and whisk them until thoroughly combined. Second, I'm not sure I like the addition of the tomatoes and I would saute the mushrooms first. Both release so much of their juices that it sort of pooled in the center of the omelet, more or less forcing me to bake the eggs longer than I would have liked to just so the juices would be absorbed. And I even seeded the tomatoes first! I can't imagine how much longer I might have had to bake this if I hadn't. And I would definitely recommend sauteeing the mushrooms before adding, along with any other vegetables you might choose to add like chopped peppers, onions, or zucchini. Finally, I didn't cover this. By doing so you prevent the omelet from turning a nice golden brown. Given my criticisms I would rate this only average, three stars, but since Hubs gave this a solid four (not knowing, of course, its challenges), I'll leave it at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Omitted olives and mushrooms. Used 2/3 pound of bacon, but it could stand the entire pound. Serves 4 rather than 6. A very easily prepared and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe - I don't think I've ever made a baked omelet before. I had exactly 10 eggs I needed to use up, and this recipe fit the bill. I made it pretty much as written. For the hot pepper sauce, I used 1/2 tsp. (about 4 dashes, I think) of Tabasco sauce, and for the olives I opted for sliced ones (a 3.8 oz. can) instead of whole, so they'd disperse better in the dish. At 40 minutes the eggs didn't look quite set enough in the center, so I went the full 50 minutes, and the dish was pretty near perfect. I had it for 3 consecutive breakfasts, and I should note that the leftovers were able to be refrigerated and reheated just fine. I enjoyed this a lot - the ingredients were a lively, tasty mix. I personally would always prefer even more bacon (and/or other meats) and cheese inside an omelet, but I'll still give this a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was awesome! It was aromatic in the oven, the tomatoes were not overcooked and I added a can of green chilies and left out the bacon and the olives as I had none. I have chickens too and this is a great way to cook eggs for dinner:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Im a mother of 3 and own my own laying hen's, so this a an easy, fast , healthy way to feed the family and use up the over abundance of eggs I get from my hen's(They take thier job very seriously :) I change the recipe a little too. I used 1/2 cup half/half and used cooked ham and 1 1/2 c. medium cheddar cheese...Turned out great! Thank you! I didnt add olives due to to many family members not liking them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancypants4569

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I served this as a special brunch for my wife on Christmas day. I screwed the recipe up a little... I guess. I like to eat picante sauce on my eggs, and so does my wife. I thought it would be okay to chop up some jalapenos and throw them into the mix. Well, the peppers were not a hit. I thought it tasted pretty good, so I ended up eating most of it myself. Anyhow, I guess you shouldn't mess with perfection. ;) I will definitely try this again, and next time I won't change anything. Otherwise, I really like lots of "stuff" in my eggs (and omelets)--this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Easy, one dish meal for dinner or breakfast. The nice thing about this recipe is you can add just about anything to suit your taste buds. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was a big hit with my family.Great Sunday night dinner. I added 6 extra eggs, bacon, reg onion, ham, cream instead of milk, fresh mushrooms. It took an hour to cook. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Three stars for ease of recipe. Not a mess to clean up after too. Which was nice. We used ham instead of bacon and red bell pepper instead of olives due to personal preferance. There was almost too much stuff mixed in and not enugh egg. Watch cooking time because ours was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I had some green olives as well, so I put them in. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States