River Omelets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Just what the doctor ordered! Was looking for a quick breakfast dish that didn't require overnight prep! I used recipe proportions but took the advice of several reviewers and saute'd the veggies and threw in brocolli, cauliflower, red & green peppers and a layer of spinach near the bottom! Used a Mexican blend cheese (co-jack, cheddar, asiago) and baked for 50 minutes covered. It should have come out at 45 but still moist and firm. Definitely on my "make again" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I will never know since I don't have an oven on the river we swim at! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Plan to make this very soon. As for the picture, to me it looks like the omelet was folded double, as it should be, and was decorated with avo and not sure if it was grapes. Anyway, avo could be quite nice with this dish! I give it 5 stars as it sounds delicious and easy, and I am always looking for egg recipes like this one for a big group for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
that photo could not be of this recipe. What are the grapes and pepper boats doing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Wow - some of these reviews are quite old. In all that time, did anyone discover whether it could be frozen, e.g. eat half, freeze the rest ??? Thanks ! To get this question posted, I'm rating a 5 (benefit of doubt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I modified this to a healthy version..I used egg beaters (southwestern style is really good!)..I use Kraft fat free shredded cheese, I used pico de gallo in place of veggies, and I used real bacon pieces in the package, as they are lower in fat, I added a hint of JD's bacon salt! And used sea salt, a little lower in sodium! Still protien packed and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Delicious for breakfast or brunch, but be sure to sautee your veggies first before adding. Also, I didn't bother with an electric mixer - an unnecessary step in my opinion. Other than that this is very easy and very tasty - perfect to adjust to your our tastes by adding in your own assortment of veggies, meats or cheeses. Great with a side of toast and fresh fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Hubs liked this better than I did, but then he was unaware of what I perceived as its flaws. I thought it was good, but I think it could be better. First, don't beat the eggs with an electric mixer. A lot of air is beaten into them that way and the resulting air bubbles will be evident in your omelet. I just use a wire whisk and whisk them until thoroughly combined. Second, I'm not sure I like the addition of the tomatoes and I would saute the mushrooms first. Both release so much of their juices that it sort of pooled in the center of the omelet, more or less forcing me to bake the eggs longer than I would have liked to just so the juices would be absorbed. And I even seeded the tomatoes first! I can't imagine how much longer I might have had to bake this if I hadn't. And I would definitely recommend sauteeing the mushrooms before adding, along with any other vegetables you might choose to add like chopped peppers, onions, or zucchini. Finally, I didn't cover this. By doing so you prevent the omelet from turning a nice golden brown. Given my criticisms I would rate this only average, three stars, but since Hubs gave this a solid four (not knowing, of course, its challenges), I'll leave it at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Omitted olives and mushrooms. Used 2/3 pound of bacon, but it could stand the entire pound. Serves 4 rather than 6. A very easily prepared and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe - I don't think I've ever made a baked omelet before. I had exactly 10 eggs I needed to use up, and this recipe fit the bill. I made it pretty much as written. For the hot pepper sauce, I used 1/2 tsp. (about 4 dashes, I think) of Tabasco sauce, and for the olives I opted for sliced ones (a 3.8 oz. can) instead of whole, so they'd disperse better in the dish. At 40 minutes the eggs didn't look quite set enough in the center, so I went the full 50 minutes, and the dish was pretty near perfect. I had it for 3 consecutive breakfasts, and I should note that the leftovers were able to be refrigerated and reheated just fine. I enjoyed this a lot - the ingredients were a lively, tasty mix. I personally would always prefer even more bacon (and/or other meats) and cheese inside an omelet, but I'll still give this a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States