Ritzy Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made my usual wilted spinach salad with boiled eggs, bacon and onions and added these on top. I love fried livers but looking for a healthier option and these fit the bill cutting the overall calories almost in half (compared to deep frying) and brings the cholesterol level down too. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
really liked it alot. baked it along with "best baked fries" (which really are the best, by the way!) recipe from this website. Since fries had to bake at @ 425*, put the livers in oven during last 15 of baking time, then turned them all over and put them in the broiler on high for about 8 minutes or so. They were moist and flavorful on the inside and had a nice, crisp coating on the outside. I think what made the difference in texture was I baked them on a pizza pan with air holes and of course, the broiling. Even my picky 6 year old son liked them! Besides cooking time and temperature, a few changes: as others suggested, soaked them in milk, but only had time for 20 minute soak, they were just fine (others suggested an overnight soak, etc...). Omitted the butter entirely, there are enough grams of fat in those crackers. beat 2 eggs together and dipped the livers in that. Someone else posted they mixed their cracker crumbs with instant potato flakes, took their advice and was happy with the results. Wanted even more of a coating but didn't want to dip in egg again because I was in a hurry, so sprayed all coated livers over with cooking oil spray and rolled all in the zip lock bag of crumbs again. If I had to change anything else... I probably wouldn't! This was a good recipe! Thanks for posting! will definitely make again. curious to try with beef liver to see if my kid will eat that, too. He is a pain to cook for cuz he hates everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I upped the temp to 375 - took Ellie May's advise & soaking in milk overnight really makes a difference (once I did it, once only 4 hrs). Would always do overnight in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I use this same recipe for chicken tenders. Nothing is better tasting than that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
These tasted like chicken livers with cracker coating seasoned with a little italian spices. :l They did. I was surprised the spices weren't stronger flavoring. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't too subtle. I just thought it was too much eventhough I used the full T. The bottom coating got soggy & the top kinda sat there. 'Didn't even toast, which surprised me. Also, done in thirty minutes. I'll try with marsala next time. Next day: Spice flavor increased - too much for me - for chicken livers anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The flavor was good but the coating was kind of mushy instead of crisp. I think I'll try them again but mix panko crumbs in with the crackers. Maybe that will give it a bit of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My husband and I LOVE chicken livers, but would always fry them. This recipe is fantastic as an alternative to oil burns from the inevitable popping livers in the frying pan. Broiling for the last couple minutes of baking really gives them a nice crisp crust. I also cut crackers with breadcrumbs so that the livers are fully coated. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
A Few Tips! Rinse the livers, then soak them in milk overnight. Rinse and pat dry before dipping in butter. After dipping in butter, season with salt, pepper garlic powder, and any other seasonings you want to use. The Italian seasoning was pretty yummy! I used Keebler Club Crackers, they are very buttery. I put them in a gallon sized plastic bag and used the rolling pin to crush them. it is important to get the crumbs as fine as possible. Set the livers so they aren't touching, on a cookie sheet or baking pan. Check them after 20- 30 minutes; small or thin livers will be done earlier than fat ones. At 25 minutes I ate the thin ones all up, and turned the fat ones over for another 5 minutes; even the fattest chicken liver I had was done at a total of 30 minutes. I gave this 4 stars because even though it is healthier than my usual recipe, livers are much better fried, with bacon and crispy, caramelized onions. This was simply a little bland, although I enjoyed trying something new! I will post a photo tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
A great change for the usually pan fried chicken livers, I like. I made one change and added 3 tablespoons of Parm. cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenonah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: National Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States