Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I loved the glaze, but the meat was SOOOOO dry. I had used a spiral cut, and would not do that again. Might even consider using same glaze, but different roasting method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Not bad.... My mom's preparation is similar to this, but instead of purchasing a whole ham, she takes ham steaks, marinates them (same recipe as here), studs with cloves and then tops with crushed pineapple (no cherries). On the rare occasion she does bake a ham, she'll add pineapple rings and cherries. My only gripe (has been for years), is that all of the commercial hams available for purchase these days are smoked. No matter what glaze you slather it with, the smokiness is so predominant, it overpowers everything else. :( This didn't seem to bother my dinner guests in the least. Of an almost 7 lb. bone-in ham (butt), I had barely enough leftover for sandwiches the next day. According to my parents, I am the Easter ham queen (hooray!). Try this - even I can't mess this up lol! Thanks for sharing, Rita! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I have been making this ham recipe for the last three years - in the past we have purchased very high end, spiral cut tavern hams, and let me tell you that I now purchase the lowest per pound priced hams and cook them in a bag using this recipe and they are by far, the best hams my family and friends have tasted... very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyc
Home Town: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I have been making this ham since 2004 and it is absolutely a hit at Easter time. My guests love it and it is a very easy recipe to follow. Thanks for sharing Rita's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JessicaS
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Awesome recipe! Used this recipe to cook my first ham and everyone loved it. I took other reviewers advice and marinated it over night in an oven bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was so good everyone loved it lots of flavour !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
As an old single guy... I'm always looking to find recipes that are easy, healthy and meet the needs of the time. This recipe was all of that and more...I used a non-precooked country ham so increased the baking time by an hour...reached the 160f ,took it out of bag, let it set and voila...you'd think i knew what I was doing . Delicious !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I guess I have to join the bandwagon on saying that my ham did not absorb the juice. Other than that, my ham came out very tasty and I loved it. I used a spiral cut ham and removed the oven bag half way to see if the juices would evaporate in oven. Afterwards just used glaze packet that came with ham and added some of the juice from the recipe and used them combined to keep ham basted. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
this glaze was very good. it is very thin, its not thick at all but it has a good flavor when it is done. Getting started it smells AWFUL, I thought for sure it was going to ruin my ham at first but in the end it turned out fine. I did use the bag and basted 2 or 3 times. I wasnt quite sure why it needed orange juice and ginger ale, but the ham is delicious. I give 4 stars becuase of the cost of the ingredients involved. the cost to make the glaze was as much as the ham itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used this recipe for my work's Christmas Potluck. Instead of making in the oven, I cooked it in a crock pot. It was nice and moist. It was a sucess. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States