Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
It was the first time I had ever cooked ham in a bag and it was truly excellent. I did not cook it for 2 hrs at 350, I slow roasted it at 200 for about 6 hours and the flavor went all though the ham. I was afraid it could be dry because of the length of time slow roasting but it was not. I also had marinated the ham in the bag with all the ingrediants over nite prior to baking. Again, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Mmmmmmm!!!! This is the first ham I've ever made, and I made it for Christmas dinner, along with scalloped potatoes, baked dill carrots, corn pudding, rolls, and salad. It was just myself, my brother, and my dad, but we all thought this was the best ham ever! It was cheaper than a fancy store bought ham, and tasted better. In addition to looking gorgeous, it was sooooo sweet and tender, it was falling apart. The glaze is also really simple to prepare. The only problem I had is I kept making holes in the oven bag when I was cutting the diamonds into the unbaked ham, so I'd recommend doing that BEFORE putting it in the bag (I thought I'd save some dishes), and be careful with the toothpicks not puncturing the bag when you put on the pineapple! Also, buy the biggest oven bag you can find. Our ham took about 45 minutes longer to bake than the recipe said, and it was also 10 pounds. I think it's important to use an oven bag because it keeps the ham nice and moist. The glaze didn't reduce like I thought it would, but I put it in a bowl in the refrigerator then took off all the solidified ham fat (eww!) on the surface and it was a great sauce! This is definitely a repeat, thanks for the recipe! I've wanted to have a ham like this since I was a little girl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
Wow, I made this recipe today and have NEVER heard anyone rave about how juicy a ham was until today. I used an 8-lb. butt portion, and scaled the recipe to 18 servings. I placed the dressed up ham in the bag with the juices the night before and just took it out the next day an hour before oven time. I baked it at 325 degrees until it reached 160, about two and a half hours. I let it sit for about 15-20 minutes in the bag while I finished the sides. I basted it twice during baking, but didn't need to. Tip: prepare the ham, i.e., score, pineapples, cherries, etc. Then place the empty bag in a pan, and then put the ham in the bag, and pour juices over. Once the ham is in the bag, you can't move it without the toothpicks piercing it! This ham needs no sauces to cover it ... it stands on it's own, and that opinion was unanimous. Try this, it's terrific and easy cleanup is a bonus. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Excellent recipe. This will be my standard method of preparing ham from now on. I deviated from the recipe somewhat in that I forgot to buy oven bags at the store. Therefore I scored my ham, mixed the marinade and poured it over my ham, uncovered in a roasting pan. I had a 15 pound semi-boneless ham and therefore cooked it for ~ 2 hrs and 45 minutes. I probably basted it 3 to 4 times while it cooked. It turned out fantastic. I did wait to place my pineapple slices and cherry halves on during the last hour of cooking, as I was afraid they may burn if placed on the ham sooner (since I was cooking mine uncovered). To me this recipe defines the traditional holiday ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This was good, but I was a bit disappointed with the flavor. I didn't use an oven bag so that I could baste the ham, but it still did not have as much flavor as I would have liked. The most flavorful of course was the bottom part that was cooked in the glaze for the full 2 hours. I liked but will find a way to keep more of the glaze on the ham. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I made this for thanksgiving. The ham got eaten WELL before the turkey. Went over great and smelled SOOO good when it was cooking. I made sure to baste it ALOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This is the best tasting ham I have ever made or tasted that anyone else has ever made! I have never been able to make great ham and I have finally found the perfect recipe! EVERYONE LOVED this and there were NO leftovers! I followed the recipe exactly and my children thought I was a genius because they have never had ham like this. The cherries make it delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRindell
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Made this ham for Easter Sunday and got rave reviews from the family. I did a 9 pound shank and cooked it at 300 degrees for a little over three hours, basting every half hour or so. (I didn't use the oven bags because they're a pain in the butt in my opinion). Even without using the bag, this ham still came out very tender and not at all dried out. I took the advice of some other members and tried bringing the leftover juices to a boil with some cornstarch but my "gravy" didn't thicken up... not sure what I did wrong. It still tasted great when poured over the ham. Overall very pretty and even more tasty! Thanks Rita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
pretty easy and good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This ham was excellent! Each piece had more flavor than the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States