Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for my big Easter dinner. It was a huge disappointment. The ham did not soak up any of the juice or flavor. The bit of ham that sat in the liquid tasted a like Gingerale or a Shirley Temple. The ingredients were so expensive too. I would have been better off to just cook the ham as indicated by the package it came in, as use the glaze it came with. Perhaps it would have been better with pineapple juice instead of gingerale as some reviewers did. I think I'll stick to my grandmother's brown sugar glaze recipe for ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
All I can say is WOW! This ham was the best ham I've ever had! I made this for Easter dinner I followed the recipe to a T, except I put it all together the day before and put it in the fridge over night so I wasn't having to mess with putting it together on Sunday morning.. This will be the way I make ham from now on! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this recipe for Easter. I did not have Marichino Cherries in the jar I had to use canned sweet dark cherries because I had send my husband out for them and that is what he came back with. Lesson Learned. I had some tough critics over for Easter, my in-laws and my parents. They raved about my ham... loved it. Thank you for such a great tasting ham recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDUBEAU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
No rave reviews. The ham did not soak up the juice and lacked any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I usually will read reviews of a recipe before trying it. It seems to me, that the two that were negative, that those 2 people might not have followed the recipe as they should have. Most reviews were very positive and I plan on trying this sweet ham recipe this Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I have never made a ham before, but my husband requested one for our first Christmas together. He wanted a sweet ham so I decided to give this recipe a try. It was so easy. We had friends over for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. Two of us don't even like ham, yet we found ourselves taking seconds. I am going to prepare a ham for Easter using the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I follow the recipe exactly and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
cooking time was a little too long. ham dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristi05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
2-18-09. I wanted to make a ham before my daughter left for Japan w/ the Navy. I'm so glad I made this recipe. If you like a ham on the sweet side this is a great recipe to try. Everyone loved it. I've never used a bag before; easy clean up, and it helped get all the flavor through out the ham. I'm using this recipe for Easter also.Update. I did make this for Easter. It's wounderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
YUM, YUM, YUM. I used this for our family xmas party. Rave Reviews from everyone. The best ham I have ever had. This was also the first ham I ever cooked. Had a 20lb ham took about 5 hours to cook. All I had to do was make the sauce put it and the ham in the bag and forget about it. If you want to impress, this is the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bgoughs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States