Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was wonderful! I would have liked to have more pineapples so I'd suggest maybe buying a second can. If you don't open it, you can always open it later. Also, I reduced the left over sauce and added about a table spoon of corn starch (mix it with a little water first!). It made a nice sauce to serve with it. I prepared this for a dinner party of 15 people with sides and I still have enough to make bean soup today. I'd definitely recommend this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildomar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was amazing made it for xmas and had no left over ham for the first time. next time I will cut the recipe in half there was way to much juice but no big deal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have used this ham recipe for 4 years now and I will never change it. I have been asked to make the ham every year, as everyone says it is the best. I make it exactly as directed, and reccomend not making changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was great. Will make again. I will try marinating the ham for the night before next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katowice, Silesian, Poland
Living In: Puslinch, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I'd give it two stars, but the ingredients were expensive, and the sauce has a peculiar aftertaste and not a very pleasant aroma. I started with an excellent spiral ham that would have done well on its own. However, this recipe had rave reviews, so I thought I'd try it. The genuine maple syrup and honey were expensive, but I had high hopes. It would have been better to baste the ham rather than to bag it, as the top ended up dry and the bottom is soaked in an expensive and odd tasting concoction that includes orange juice, maraschino cherry juice and ginger ale. You have to be careful with the bag and the juice level, or you'll end up with a carbonized sugary mess in your oven. I also made the mistake of using Diamond party toothpicks (food-safe no-run color) which did bleed into the pineapple rings (gross - thanks Diamond!) I'm going to have several friends and family over to try it, and hopefully we will like it once it's cooled down a little more. Just a horrible, expensive mess in my view that ruined a perfectly good ham and a cup of genuine maple syrup and organic honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Perfect recipe as written. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My first baked ham was delicious cause of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
i don't have a rating, but i was wondering what brand of ham is the best one to purchase?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is my go to recipe for holiday ham. the picture looks just like my grandmas and it tastes like it too! I don't use the oven bag - just cover it tightly with aluminum foil and you get a similar result. I made a sauce from the glaze plus drippings by placing them in the a measuring cup and popping it into the freezer for 15mins, skimming the fat and then added some pecans and cherries to the sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I've used this recipe three times so far and each time the results are excellent! I can't imagine ever needing or using another baked ham recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States