Rita's Sweet Holiday Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I just loved the glaze to this ham.The ham came out nice and moist with the meat falling off the bone.We wanted a ham we could slice.I had an uncooked ham.Next time I will not cover the ham. When you cover the ham it ruins the glaze.I will only cook the ham for 3 hours.If you want to thicken the glaze just mix 3 tbs.Of cornstarch with water. you may add more cornstarch until glaze is the consistency of German Chocolate Cake Frosting.Remove from heat let glaze cool.The glaze will thicken more as it cools.When the glaze is cool spoon over ham and use a basting brush.I will definetely be making this glaze again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Got lots of raves from the family this Thanksgiving w/ this recipe. Will def use in the future! Super easy & super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was the first full sized ham I had ever cooked and came out great. The only difference is I used sugar free maple syrup because that's what I use. Great flavor and everyone went back for seconds and even thirds. I'll be making this again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I made this recipe as is for a Christmas supper for twelve people. It was a HUGE success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I have tried this recipe on a few occasions while only subbing in an overnight soaking in Coke. This was and will continue to be a holiday favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vaison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This makes the absolute best gravy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a very good recipe for ham - made it exactly as the recipe called for, with the exception of swapping out plain orange juice for pineapple-orange juice, and I did not add the cherries. I think cooking in the bag kept it nice and moist and everyone commented on the good flavor. The only thing I missed when compared to a honeybaked ham was the crusty brown sugar exterior. Next time I try this, I might rub some brown sugar on it when it comes out of the oven then put it back in under the broiler for a few minutes. Otherwise a very good ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was my first ham and it was really good and I had a smaller ham and I wished I would have cooked it a little less. But everyone loved the flavor. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Very nice! I really liked the flavor of the finished product. There is only 2 of us so I used some of the left over to make egg, potatoe and ham breakfast burritos and it even tasted awesome like that. I will be using this ham recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I absolutely hate candied ham so I'm going off of what everyone else said. I cooked the ham in a bag, which did cause a few extra holes. I also used toothpicks to hold it up off of the ham. It smelled absolutely wonderful and was gone immediately. My brother-in law actually took the bone to get off the last tidbits of meat. Several people asked for the recipe and I'm asked to make this every get-together now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

How to Cook Ham

See how to prepare a juicy glazed ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States