Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
My family thought this recipe was wonderful. We'll definitely have it, again & again. I used fat-free sour cream, low fat mozzarella and ground sirloin. I was concerned that the outcome would be bland because tomato sauce, spinach and sour cream don't have much taste. As a result, I flavored the hamburger with Accent, garlic salt and onion powder as it browned. That's the only change that I made. I served it with salad and garlic bread. Thanks, KDB for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I followed many of the reviewers' suggestions, and used 24 oz of tomato sauce, added dashes of garlic salt, Italian seasonings, and ground black pepper. It still tasted sort of bland, and I think that is because I used unseasoned tomato sauce. I then added some oregano and about 1/4 cup of chianti, and I really liked the taste. I blended all the ingredients and then topped with the cheese. I used a mixture of equal parts mozzarella, cheddar jack and crumbled feta. Everyone in the family loved it, but my husband thought it needed a bit more zing, and he suggested adding some sliced black olives and perhaps some diced tomatoes. I'm not so sure about the tomatoes, but I think the olives would give it the perfect taste. I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I really liked this recipe. I chose it because I wanted to get rid of some stuff in the fridge. I ended up using spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce, quesadilla cheese and cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella, and I even used canned spinach (well drained)instead of frozen because that is what I had. I used more than a cup of cheese because I love cheese. It ended up being a real comfort food, not fancy but warm and cheesy. I really liked it and my fiance did also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this a 2nd time last night (forgot to review after the first time) and it came out awesome. I modified it just a little - I browned onion & garlic with the ground beef. For seasoning I used 1tbsp Italian seasoning instead of the thyme. In addition to the sauce I added a can of diced tomato. I did use the sour cream. I used fresh spinach (matter of preference, shouldn't change the flavor) and I put that in with the beef & sauce before adding to the oven pan. I used a mix of mozzarella & cheddar to use up open packages of each. Used shells (can't find w.w.bow tie pasta). We loved it with these modifications, we found it dry & bland otherwise. Hope you like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I thought this was a great & easy recipe (my husband even approved). I did make some minor adjustments. I added italian seasoning instead of the tyme along with salt & pepper. I also added some crumbled feta cheese along with the mozzarella which gave it a great flavor. Finally, I cooked it the entire time with tin foil on top to prevent it from drying out. The only thing I would change would be to add at least 1/2 can more of tomato sauce to give you a little something to dip your garlic bread in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is definitely comfort food. I added a little more tomato sauce, some onions, garlic, and Italian seasoning based on the other reviews. It was still a little underseasoned for our tastes, but I can adjust that when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I totally revamped this recipe following many of the other suggestions. I added onion, garlic, mushrooms, a jar of pasta sauce, black olives, basil, oregano, black pepper. I left out the sour cream, although would like to try it next time and I cut down the amount of pasta. I mixed all ingredients together except for 1 cup of cheese, which I placed on top. I baked this for 25 minutes. This was a saucy and delicious recipe that could handle almost any kind of variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this on the stove-top because I don't have an oven, so it didn't look as good as the pic but it was delicious and sooo easy! Great for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is the first time I've ever cooked with frozen spinach. I changed the tomato sauce to a thick, chunk spaghetti sauce. I'm makin a conscience effort to include more vegetables into our dinners. This did the trick and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I doubled up on this recipe and gave 1 pan to a friend... and we were surprised at how good it was! I used low fat yogurt instead of sour cream, and grated nacho cheese blend instead of mozzerella... but it was absolutely amazing! I'd suggest mixing all the ingredients except the cheese together too... then pour it in a dish sprinkle the cheese on and bake until the cheese is pretty =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States