Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My 8 year old said spinach is "Awesome!" so we'll definitely be making this again. But tomato sauce is rather bland and 15 oz. of tomato sauce is not enough sauce, so next time I'll use spaghetti sauce and turkey sausage instead of basic ground beef to kick it up a bit. Also, I might mix the spinach in with the tomato/meat mixture for better distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this on the stove-top because I don't have an oven, so it didn't look as good as the pic but it was delicious and sooo easy! Great for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I followed the advise of others and added onions, garlic , garlic salt and italion seasoning while the beef was cooking and it turned out great. I'll add more cheese next time 'cuz we're cheezy people. Great recipe for a quick dinner. Only baked it for about 10mins to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Im giving this 3 stars because although it is a great base recipe, made as is it is very bland. I used one 8ounce can of seasoned tomato sauce and one 14ounce can of diced tomatoes. And you should never cook ground beef without seasoning, as it adds a great amount of flavor to the dish. I also used two 6 ounce bags of fresh spinach(personal preference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this a 2nd time last night (forgot to review after the first time) and it came out awesome. I modified it just a little - I browned onion & garlic with the ground beef. For seasoning I used 1tbsp Italian seasoning instead of the thyme. In addition to the sauce I added a can of diced tomato. I did use the sour cream. I used fresh spinach (matter of preference, shouldn't change the flavor) and I put that in with the beef & sauce before adding to the oven pan. I used a mix of mozzarella & cheddar to use up open packages of each. Used shells (can't find w.w.bow tie pasta). We loved it with these modifications, we found it dry & bland otherwise. Hope you like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made this recipe as it is posted on the site. We didn't enjoy it and I doubt that I will make it again. If you want to try it, use the suggestion of others to make more sauce. Also, add some of the other traditional Italian herbs. Sadly, while I made it because I loved the idea of including spinach in a baked pasta casserole, the spinach detracted rather than added. There are many better baked pasta recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
It was okay, but no one wanted the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This recipe has a great framework for customizing to your taste. Instead of using the tomato sauce and sour cream I finished up things I had in the fridge. I added about a cup of mild salsa and 3/4s of a jar of cheesy ragu. I used probably a little less than a cup of plain yogurt and a 1lb. bag of fresh spinach, added about 1/3 at a time. I just let it simmer on the stove for a while and then sprinkled mozzarella on the individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I followed this recipe to a "T" and it definitely is not a keeper. Sorry Rita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Just a fancy hamburger helper, not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States