Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I totally revamped this recipe following many of the other suggestions. I added onion, garlic, mushrooms, a jar of pasta sauce, black olives, basil, oregano, black pepper. I left out the sour cream, although would like to try it next time and I cut down the amount of pasta. I mixed all ingredients together except for 1 cup of cheese, which I placed on top. I baked this for 25 minutes. This was a saucy and delicious recipe that could handle almost any kind of variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Use spicy Italian sausage instead of beef and add a lot more Italian spices! Try adding more sauce next time. Then it is good. Mix the cheese into the pasta instead of on top. It would be much too bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up the rest of the 4th of July hamburger -- this was really good! Simple, straightforward ingredients. I would add garlic & onion, perhaps tomatoes w/green chilies for some extra punch, but it was great as-is, and is going in "the book" at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I made this and everyone at home ooohed and aaahed about this dish. Was very tasty and will definately make this again and again. Keep the recipes coming. Love this site. Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
What a HIT! I know my husband loves a dish when he says "You can make this any time!" And he said just that -- over and over! The only change I made was using ground turkey instead of beef. Hubby said this reminded him of lasagna. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was good! I made this with no salt added tomato sauce. Next time I will try regular tomato sauce and maybe a little extra hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I was excited to make this, but then reading all the reviews about how bland it was, I almost changed my mind. I don't want to be yelled at for changing the recipe, but I always work it a little to make it better. First, I added chopped garlic and onion (always add that if the recipe doesn't call for it) dried basil and orgegano in addition to the thyme. Then I added the pasta to the beef mixture, but a fresh spinach and arugula mix on top (cooked it down first), then the cheese and baked for 20 minutes. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmamach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My family thought this was really good. I did a few things different. I used a 28oz can of tomato sauce instead. I added (about a tsp of each) basil, oregeno, & italian seasoning and about a half tsp of garlic powder, pepper and red pepper flakes. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! Super easy, good & simple, and what I especially love about it is that most of the ingredients are things you can keep on hand. I 86'd the sour cream because we were out and I was too lazy to go to the store! :) I did cook some onions and garlic in a little olive oil right before browning the beef (in the same skillet). It's just a habit, what I always do when making ground meat for a recipe like this. Brilliant recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made it last night because I had everything in the house and was very disappointed...very bland and would not make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mywraps

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States