Rita's Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
My family thought this recipe was wonderful. We'll definitely have it, again & again. I used fat-free sour cream, low fat mozzarella and ground sirloin. I was concerned that the outcome would be bland because tomato sauce, spinach and sour cream don't have much taste. As a result, I flavored the hamburger with Accent, garlic salt and onion powder as it browned. That's the only change that I made. I served it with salad and garlic bread. Thanks, KDB for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I thought this was just okay. Maybe it's just my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
delicious and very fast - could use a little salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This recipe was easy and very tasty! I added italian seasoning and garlic salt in place of the thyme. I also used two cups of cheese. I thought that the recommended 3.5 cups of noodles was too much though. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
A delicious recepie! It really does disguise the spinach flavor. It's very easy to throw together at the last minute, and the casserole could even be prepared in advance, then thrown in the over for 20 minutes more. I browned the meat with salt, pepper, and garlic, then added just the sour cream and sauce. I used a full jar of Ragu sauce, and it wasn't too much, at least for our tastes. A delicious and very customizable meal - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I thought this was a great & easy recipe (my husband even approved). I did make some minor adjustments. I added italian seasoning instead of the tyme along with salt & pepper. I also added some crumbled feta cheese along with the mozzarella which gave it a great flavor. Finally, I cooked it the entire time with tin foil on top to prevent it from drying out. The only thing I would change would be to add at least 1/2 can more of tomato sauce to give you a little something to dip your garlic bread in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Ellen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
this was average. Needs a few special touches to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
To make it more "Italian" I subsituted Italian sausage and seasoning for the hamburger and thyme. Came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I really liked this recipe. I chose it because I wanted to get rid of some stuff in the fridge. I ended up using spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce, quesadilla cheese and cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella, and I even used canned spinach (well drained)instead of frozen because that is what I had. I used more than a cup of cheese because I love cheese. It ended up being a real comfort food, not fancy but warm and cheesy. I really liked it and my fiance did also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States