Rita's Eggs Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I liked this recipe, but nobody else in my family did. My husband cooked the strata according to the recipe and thought it was done. Both he and my son tried it, but it was nowhere near being done and I think that ruined it for them. I then cooked it for another 1/2 hour and I liked it but they wouldn't try it again. I had high hopes and think that if the cook time were adjusted it would have been more successful for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Overall I really liked this casserole. I did think it was a bit salty so that's the reason for the 4 star rating. Next time I'll reduce or omit the salt. I used a mixture of 2% and skim milk, reduced the cheese by 1 cup, and just buttered the bottom of the baking dish with 2 T of butter rather than buttering the bread. This was still very rich and my guests all complimented it and many went back for seconds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is really flavorful, but like some of the other reviewers, I found that it needed more than an hour in the oven. I wasn't sure whether to use my glass 9x13 or my metal cake pan 9x13, so I chose metal which may have been a factor in the cooking time. I did cover it loosely with foil but removed for the last few minutes, and I kept it in the oven for 1 hr and 10 minutes. It could have gone longer, but that would have made me late for the staff meeting for which I was making this recipe. Everyone loved it, and some came back for seconds! I will definitely make this again. I used Italian bread sliced in 1/2" sections, and I also lightly buttered the sides of the casserole dish. I used 2 cups each of sharp cheddar, Monterey Jack, and a Mexican blend of shredded cheese (store brand). Also, I used organic eggs as I think their taste is superior, and whole milk for added richness. I substituted chili powder for the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I cut this this recipe in half and put it in a Pillivuyt 2 quart white souffle dish. The only change I made was that I used thinly sliced french bread (and baked in a convection oven). In one hour it came out perfect! No over-browning or burning on top, no need to put in a water bath or use foil. I'm just sorry that I didn't take a picture. Served with fruit and bacon. Seasonings in this recipe were delicious. Thanks for sharing, Kandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I think this had really good flavor, but my kids didnt like the consistency of the casserole with the bread. They thought it was too mushy (and it was thoroughly baked). I probably will keep all the seasonings the same when I repeat, but will opt for making a casserole that just has eggs in it so they will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very good! I added crumbled, cooked sausage and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce gave this a unique appealing flavor that I hoped it would. I added some chopped ham and about half of the cheese. You could easily add mushrooms, cooked sausage or a vegetable like broccoli. This will be my go-to egg strata from now on. Thanks Rita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krsms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love this recipe! It's been my go-to recipe for brunches since 2005! My husband's family requests it every year. The only modification I do is to add some very thinly sliced deli ham in the layers. Yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I have tried many egg strata recipes in the past, for Easter Breakfast. This one is the best!! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This has become our traditional Christmas morning breakfast. I cook about 3/4 lb. of bacon, crumble/chop it and add it to the layers of bread and cheese. I also chop up an onion and add that to the liquid mixture. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oclocal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States