Risotto with Tomato, Corn and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is an excellent recipe--it's even better after a couple of days in the fridge. I didn't bother peeling or seeding the tomatoes, and I used a bit more garlic and corn (used frozen); it was still great. Since I have a child who has an allergy to casein, I replaced the butter with ghee (casein-free clarified butter), and the milk with plain soy milk. We just sprinkled the parmesan on top for those of us who could have it. Next time I might try chicken broth instead of water, as GRANDESA mentioned. But, either way, this is a beautiful, rich side dish that could even be served as a main course for meatless nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celiac_family_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I ditched the milk and made this gluten and dairy free - using broth instead of water, canned diced tomatoes instead of milk, and coconut oil instead of butter. I added kale, zucchini, and peas for my veggies. Added some cayenne powder, thyme and Montreal veggie spice in addition to basil. Was a hearty, great tasting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This was very good. I have never used milk in risotto before. I did add 2 chicken boullion cubes to the water-milk pot; knowing that milk and water alone wouldn't flavor the rice. Just by making that tweak the risotto came out beautifully. It was as very DELISH treat. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Absolutely perfect! This is the perfect risotto dish. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IteachK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The risotto was rich with universally appealing taste. All quantities and directions were perfect. I made this using a Maggi cube for broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gagan Gupta
Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was my first ever attempt and risotto and it came out awesome!! Only problem was that I don't think I had the heat high enough because I still had about half the milk mixture left after 15 mins of cooking the risotto. The heat needs to stay at med-high. As many other reviewers suggested, I did double the garlic and also used chicken broth instead of water. I served this with italian sausage. Hubby loved this and my 4 year old daughter enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
No flavor at all. It might have been better with chicken broth instead. The shrimp I added couldn't help the flavor. I will throw out the left overs, not worth saving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Made this exactly as listed and found it needed additional salt and pepper but all else was good. Definetily will make this again as it got rave reviews from dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Inedible due to ratio of corn to rice and tomatoes, way way too much corn. Risotto itself is good, made much better by replacing water with chicken broth, replacing 1/4 cup of milk with white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This dish is AMAZING and has so much flavor! I have given the recipe to my mother and sister who make it regularly. I make it exactly as is and have superb results everytime. And do not be afraid - this does not take nearly as long as you may think and find that I am able to prep a salad while the risotto cooks. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States