Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Good but cooking time should be doubled as well as the amount of liquid (I used the states amount of broth and then added extra water each time I added more rice). It has a great taste but is time consuming and sits kind of heavy. I love sun dried tomatoes so I liked it but my mom thought it was just okay. It's also very cheesy which is why I liked it but if you're not a cheesy kind of person, I would only add half the amount. It turned out much better the second time I made it when I added more stock and let it soak in slower. I would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I made this recipe from the William Sonoma cookbook and found that increasing both the broth amount and the heat on the rice helped it to cook faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I have made this twice and both times I ended up adding more liquid than it called for because it took forever for the rice to cook. I added some white cooking wine along with the vegetable stock for added flavor, and we cut back on the mozzarella as others suggested. Both times, my family got too hungry waiting so we didn't cook the rice until tender because it took at least 40 minutes and counting. We liked the flavor, just not really patient enough to wait for the rice to cook. Maybe one day when I have nothing better to do we'll make this again. Not a good recipe for a busy family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsville, New York, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ihsan
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I scaled this down all the way to make enough for just one person. Maybe because of this, the rice wasn't soft enough near the end. Not a problem, I just added in more liquid, and it turned out just perfect. :) Didn't measure out the cheeses, but I know how much I like, hehe. I didn't have a problem with the texture, unlike some other reviewers, but again... I like cheese. :) All in all, I loved the recipe, and will definitely make it again! (Forgot to mention... this was the first time I've ever made risotto too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ihsan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadong, Brunei And Muara, Brunei Darussalam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
VERY time-consuming. So-so flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Fantastic! I added a box of frozen spinach (thawed) at the end. I'm making it now for the second time in 2 weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Was my first try at risotto and we loved it! Did put a bit less cheese as recommended. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
FABULOUS! I used brown rice to make it a bit healthier since it calls for so much cheese, but it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I'm a novice at risotta, so tried this recipe tonight. If this is the best way to try risotta, I'm definitely disappointed. Have erased this from my private stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
All in all I thought the flavor was delicious. I'm pretty sure that I followed the recipe to a "T" but somehow or another it ended up taking about 90 minutes to cook the rice! I will try this again, as it did turn out really tasty in the end, I'll just make a couple adjustments! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States