Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This was a great basic recipe that has alot of room for variation. I added 3 cloves of chopped garlic and used chicken stock instead of veggie stock. I also used about 1/4 cup white wine. I love the idea of using the oil from the sundried tomatoes to saute the onions and garlic. I reduced the cheese to 1 cup and used asiago instead of parmesan or mozzarella. I will definetly make this again maybe adding some kalamata olives or artichokes at the end. I think feta cheese would be really good too. I served it with grilled asparagus and marinated pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
We loved this-served it with Feta Chicken and it was a smash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
We really liked this recipe, but made the following changes: 1. Added chicken (I wanted to make this a main dish) 2. Used gorgonzola instead of mozzarella cheese I will definitely use this recipe again as a main or side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This was well worth the effort. However, I would recommend using less cheese as it was a bit overpowering. I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and I was extremely pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This was good, however I needed more than stock than what the recipe called for. Also, 2 cups of cheese is WAY too much. I'd say maybe a half cup total would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was just okay. It didn't need the extra salt. Kind of bland and the texture was a little funky. Next time I'll try another type of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Though the flavor was very good (I'm a lover of sun dried tomatoes), the rice did not cook as was expected in the recipe. I ended up using 6 cups of vegetable stock plus an additional cup of water and the rice still had not cooked properly and did not have the creamy texture that risotto is supposed to have. Also, when it was finished cooking it was incredibly thick and a bit too aldente. Overall, it was a lot of work for a not so great turnout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Simple recipe to follow! This was my first attempt at a risotto.. I found the prep time a bit longer than indicated and also found that the rice took longer to cook than stated. I needed extra liquid, so added in a cup of white wine - worked a treat! I wanted the risotto for a main dish, so added in zucchini and grilled chicken, which made it extra tasty. I took the advice of previous reviewers and halved the amount of cheese - this was a good hint, as it would have been overpowering otherwise..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I was very pleased with this recipe. I am an impatient cook so I just dumped some broth in, let it soak up and the rice was still a bit chewy so I added some more broth ice cubes until they weren't chewy. Next time maybe I'll add chicken to make it a meal. Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was my first attempt at Risotto. Was a lovely dish, but wished I had added more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States