Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by VhiaD
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This risotto is really easy to make. It could do with adding more sundried tomatoes to get that nice strong flavor - I would probably use a whole cup, or close to it. Adding pine nuts makes it really nice and crunchy too. To make it a more substantial main dish, you could add chicken as well, for those meat lovers out there! I also reduced the amount of parmesan to 1/2 cup, because otherwise the cheese makes the dish way too heavy. Some tweaking of the flavors could suit your tastebuds more, but the original recipe is still really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VhiaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I was not able to find arborio rice, but found a Morelos rice in the Hispanic aisle that looked similiar to arborio. I did have some issues with this, but I don't think it was related to the rice. The risotto was a little undercooked despite using about 1 and 3/4 boxes of stock, but it was getting so late that I served it as it was. With all that cheese, I was hesitant to use sun dried tomatoes in oil, but I did use the tomatos packaged in a pouch without oil. This recipe really made a ton, and I'm thinking we will be eating this all week. I would definitely cut this in half unless you are serving a crowd. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
The entire family raved about how good this was! I did find that I needed more broth than what was called for (I used about 1/2 cup extra), and I used smoked mozzarella instead of regular. This was my first attempt at risotto, and although it's time consuming, the results were well worth the time spent. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was fantastic, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I pulled this recipe from Allrecipes.com 4 years ago to try my hand at making risotto for the first time. My family loves this recipe so much that this is the only way I made risotto and we make it on a very regular basis and I never look at the recipe anymore. I've actually found myself making extra so we have it leftover. I keep chicken stock in the house so I use that instead of vegetable and although it's very good with mozzarella cheese, I have a fondness for making it with fontina instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This recipe is great as an entree, especially for a vegetarian meal! I opted to add yellow pepper for a bit of color (looks nice with the green basil and red tomatoes). If you'd like your risotto just a tad creamier, replace some of the liquid with milk! I also leave out the parmesan and strictly use mozzarella; there's a lot of flavor already. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I added 1/3 of the broth at a time, keeping the heat on medium-low until the broth was fully absorbed rather than adding the broth a ladleful at a time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This an excellent reciped. I enjoyed it a great deal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I thought this was delicious, however I used A LOT more stock than the recipe advised, swapped vegetable stock for chicken and also added some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Pretty good, though I did cut the cheese in half. The full amount would have been WAAAAY too much. Also added a chopped garlic clove and used chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States