Risotto with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Mozzarella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I was not able to find arborio rice, but found a Morelos rice in the Hispanic aisle that looked similiar to arborio. I did have some issues with this, but I don't think it was related to the rice. The risotto was a little undercooked despite using about 1 and 3/4 boxes of stock, but it was getting so late that I served it as it was. With all that cheese, I was hesitant to use sun dried tomatoes in oil, but I did use the tomatos packaged in a pouch without oil. This recipe really made a ton, and I'm thinking we will be eating this all week. I would definitely cut this in half unless you are serving a crowd. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
The entire family raved about how good this was! I did find that I needed more broth than what was called for (I used about 1/2 cup extra), and I used smoked mozzarella instead of regular. This was my first attempt at risotto, and although it's time consuming, the results were well worth the time spent. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was fantastic, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I pulled this recipe from Allrecipes.com 4 years ago to try my hand at making risotto for the first time. My family loves this recipe so much that this is the only way I made risotto and we make it on a very regular basis and I never look at the recipe anymore. I've actually found myself making extra so we have it leftover. I keep chicken stock in the house so I use that instead of vegetable and although it's very good with mozzarella cheese, I have a fondness for making it with fontina instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This recipe is great as an entree, especially for a vegetarian meal! I opted to add yellow pepper for a bit of color (looks nice with the green basil and red tomatoes). If you'd like your risotto just a tad creamier, replace some of the liquid with milk! I also leave out the parmesan and strictly use mozzarella; there's a lot of flavor already. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I added 1/3 of the broth at a time, keeping the heat on medium-low until the broth was fully absorbed rather than adding the broth a ladleful at a time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This an excellent reciped. I enjoyed it a great deal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I thought this was delicious, however I used A LOT more stock than the recipe advised, swapped vegetable stock for chicken and also added some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Pretty good, though I did cut the cheese in half. The full amount would have been WAAAAY too much. Also added a chopped garlic clove and used chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This risotto was outstanding! I prepared it with chicken broth, and I used 1/2 c parmesan and 1/2 c mozzarella cheese. Just delicious! It has the exact amount of salt needed also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskimberly04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States