Risotto with Chicken and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I've made it several times now. Like all risotto dishes, the stirring is a pain in the neck. But... it is delicious and worth the effort. Even my 12-year old who doesn't fancy asparagus all that much loved it. My family cheers when I suggest it for dinner! As other reviewers have mentioned, you might need to add more water as you go to ensure a creamy texture. But that's a minor point that almost goes without saying anytime you make a rice dish, so I'm not going to knock a star off for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I took the advice of the other reviewers and added an extra cup of stock and some mushrooms, and this was AMAZING. 4 stars as written, 5 with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This recipe was just okay. I ended up having to add extra broth because the rice was still under cooked. Didn't really care for the overall flavors either. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This wasn't perfect, but it was so nice, I'll give it 5 stars anyway. I made it pretty much exactly as written, except I had a bit more chicken, 1.17# (17.17 oz.) instead of the 10 oz. specified. (I have no idea where people find chicken breasts that small.) I didn't know what kind of white wine to use, so I used a Moscato d'Asti, which is sweet. The "add stock, and stir some more" steps were a bit involved, but I took the time. I'm not very experienced with risotto, but I've made a few different recipes, and in comparison this one didn't seem to come out with the desired "creamy" rice texture. Overall, though, I enjoyed eating this over two dinners, and it's still worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I had never made risotto before and it came out beautifully. I was so proud of this dish and I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I love this recipe and so do my kids! The only variation that I use is substituting frozen peas for the asparagus and using a full 4 cup container of chicken stock instead of 2 cups to make the rice nice and soft. This is one of my family's go to dinners and usually makes our weekly menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this vegetarian and added a bit more asparagus. Also, instead of wine I used more chicken broth and 1 or 2 tsp red wine vinegar. I also only used 1/4 cup cheese as that's all it needed for my taste. Very delicious and I believe it would have been just as delicious without the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great recipe, but agree with the other reviewers comments regarding the wine (increased by adding 1 1/2 times what the recipe called for) and broth. I needed more than double the broth as what the recipe called for in order to get the risotto to the softness I wanted. I also needed to add some salt and garlic powder for a little more taste. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Made correctly this is beyond a 5 star recipe--I used approximately 5 cups of chicken broth and skipped the Parmesan cheese (was out). Incredibly delicious! I diced the asparagus stalks but left the tips in tact (added the tips during the last round of broth). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I loved this dish. I exchanged the oregano and basil for lemon zest. Also added some diced chicken to make it more of filling meal. Everyone enjoyed this risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States