Risotto alla Milanese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This is very good!!!,the bone marrow makes the difference. Thanks!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I want to try this recipie, however, I do not know where to find beef marrow. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
fantabulous! Amazing! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
We loved this recipe! Cheesy and chewy. I did have to add more beef stock to cook the rice, however, but not much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I thought this was o.k, but my parents loved it. I used chicken broth instead of the beef stock and I didnt use beef marrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My first attempted risotto, and it came out great. I didn't use beef or beef stock- I substituted chicken stock and left out meat all together. I also added a little paprika instead of saffron (didn't have any.) I've made this a couple of times, and it's good- especially with lots of parmesian cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This turned out very delicious! I used one quart of chicken broth, no marrow, and didn't add the remaining quarter cup of butter at the end, and I added mushrooms with the onions. Very rich and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carnegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I've used this recipe so many times that it has become my signature "wow" side dish, especially when making Osso Buco. Saffron can sometimes be hard to find, but don't worry. This recipe still turns out great without it (the same can still be said when you omit the marrow). And keep in mind that you can swap out the Parmesan for another cheese to mix it up a little. For example, Gorgonzola works great. If using a different cheese, rely on taste as opposesd to the given measurements as stronger cheeses will require less and vice versa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have never made risotto from scratch before, but this recipe was extremely easy to follow and turned out perfectly! I left out the marrow, but to me it tasted absolutely delicious and my family and friends loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Ok now, this recipe is absolutely fantastic. I followed it to the T minus the bone marrow and it turned out amazing. One change I would make is to lessen the saffron by half or to taste. 1 tsp turned out to be quite a lot and it made the dish extremely aromatic, which is not a negative, however as a side dish the flavor was a tad overwhelming. One thing I would note to new risotto makers is the cooking time and the amount of broth are completely subject to external factors. So just keep tasting it as you go and it should be perfectly dente when the husk on the rice begins to become transparent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States