Risotto alla Milanese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I want to try this recipie, however, I do not know where to find beef marrow. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I've used this recipe so many times that it has become my signature "wow" side dish, especially when making Osso Buco. Saffron can sometimes be hard to find, but don't worry. This recipe still turns out great without it (the same can still be said when you omit the marrow). And keep in mind that you can swap out the Parmesan for another cheese to mix it up a little. For example, Gorgonzola works great. If using a different cheese, rely on taste as opposesd to the given measurements as stronger cheeses will require less and vice versa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Most local butcher/supermarket meat departments save bones for your dogs in the back or even sell them in a package to you. These will all have marrow in them and they usually have techniques to get it out. Small spoons are usually the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Ok now, this recipe is absolutely fantastic. I followed it to the T minus the bone marrow and it turned out amazing. One change I would make is to lessen the saffron by half or to taste. 1 tsp turned out to be quite a lot and it made the dish extremely aromatic, which is not a negative, however as a side dish the flavor was a tad overwhelming. One thing I would note to new risotto makers is the cooking time and the amount of broth are completely subject to external factors. So just keep tasting it as you go and it should be perfectly dente when the husk on the rice begins to become transparent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
An acceptable risotto but it didn't "wow" me - I would have preferred this with more texture than just the onion, and the beef/saffron flavor was a little strong and not the most ideal combinination of flavors. Hubs didn't care for it at all. The bone marrow was incovenient so I didn't use it, but I can't imagine this would have been that much better had I included it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Very simple and easy side dish. I used chicken stock instead of beef as I was serving chicken. I fried the onion with some garlic as well until brown and slightly crispy. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This turned out very delicious! I used one quart of chicken broth, no marrow, and didn't add the remaining quarter cup of butter at the end, and I added mushrooms with the onions. Very rich and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carnegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My first attempted risotto, and it came out great. I didn't use beef or beef stock- I substituted chicken stock and left out meat all together. I also added a little paprika instead of saffron (didn't have any.) I've made this a couple of times, and it's good- especially with lots of parmesian cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This is very good!!!,the bone marrow makes the difference. Thanks!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have never made risotto from scratch before, but this recipe was extremely easy to follow and turned out perfectly! I left out the marrow, but to me it tasted absolutely delicious and my family and friends loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States