Risotto alla Milanese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Authentic and delicious! It is excellent both with and without the marrow, which adds a bit of a different flavour, but is definitely not a show stopper. Another reviewer suggested experimenting with different cheeses, so this time I am using an extra sharp Vermont cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diannapop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Pretty good, but the saffron flavor was a bit overwhelmed by the cheese. Nice presentation, tastes fine, but I think if you´re going to use saffron it might as well star! Worth making once though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Absolutely delectable! This was simple, delicious and cooked exactly as predicted. I followed the recipe as written. In a word – "Perfection".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
An acceptable risotto but it didn't "wow" me - I would have preferred this with more texture than just the onion, and the beef/saffron flavor was a little strong and not the most ideal combinination of flavors. Hubs didn't care for it at all. The bone marrow was incovenient so I didn't use it, but I can't imagine this would have been that much better had I included it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Ok now, this recipe is absolutely fantastic. I followed it to the T minus the bone marrow and it turned out amazing. One change I would make is to lessen the saffron by half or to taste. 1 tsp turned out to be quite a lot and it made the dish extremely aromatic, which is not a negative, however as a side dish the flavor was a tad overwhelming. One thing I would note to new risotto makers is the cooking time and the amount of broth are completely subject to external factors. So just keep tasting it as you go and it should be perfectly dente when the husk on the rice begins to become transparent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was very delicious. I left out the bone marrow (cause I didn't have any) but the dish was a huge hit with my family. The addition of the saffron was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My first attempt at making risotto. Omitted the saffron and bone marrow, but I thought it turned out great without it. Very creamy and chewy, just like risotto I had in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was ok, no one in my family was too crazy about it. I used homemade stock & replaced the last 1/4 cup of butter with more cheese, which might have did the entire recipe in, but I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have never made risotto from scratch before, but this recipe was extremely easy to follow and turned out perfectly! I left out the marrow, but to me it tasted absolutely delicious and my family and friends loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I've used this recipe so many times that it has become my signature "wow" side dish, especially when making Osso Buco. Saffron can sometimes be hard to find, but don't worry. This recipe still turns out great without it (the same can still be said when you omit the marrow). And keep in mind that you can swap out the Parmesan for another cheese to mix it up a little. For example, Gorgonzola works great. If using a different cheese, rely on taste as opposesd to the given measurements as stronger cheeses will require less and vice versa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States