Ripe Grape Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I used black seedless about 3 cup of grapes so I wouldn't through them away. Halved them left the skins on and cooked 'em, tossed them in my vitamix for a quick chopping and put it in a 8 inch deep dish. My husband thought it had a blueberry flavor. Served with whipped cream. We loved it and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Yuma, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
We're not much for pies around here, but it did the trick to use up the grape pulp leftover from our grape harvest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this pie using black grapes and a home-made crust. The blend of deep black grape flavor with the perfectly flaky crust made this better than any fruit pie I've ever made. Sweet, but not overwhelmingly so. I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
The easiest way to peel the grapes is to mash them in a bowl with a potato masher and then pick out the skins. I haven't tried the recipe yet, but I do this when I make jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I made this recipe for a wedding reception. It went over well. It reminded me of cherry but and tasted like grape jelly. I probably won't make this again, but it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Tate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
this recipe turned out amazing!!i was a little apprehensive about the grapes, but it was sooo yum! i used a shallow dish, and strips of dough instead of a whole covered pie, and baked for about 25 mins at 200C, coz the filling bubbled over at higher temperatures. next time I'm thinking a streusel topping would really go well with this pie!! thanks a ton!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Great, quick and easy pie. I used the review by "OCTOVUS" and followed it exactly. However, I think that it would also taste good to add another fruit to the grapes for a bit more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I enlisted my two daughters' help in peeling the grapes-- what a messy job! The flavor of this pie was absolutely great, and the recipe was simple to follow and worked out well. But we didn't like the consistency of the peels, so next time I'm going to put the grape pulp and peel into the food processor to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This was good! Here are the changes I made to make it less painful. The grapes were green, seedless. I did not skin them, just threw out the old ones and washed the good ones. Put the 2 1/2 cups in a saucepan with about 1/3 cup water and heated over medium-low heat until it bubbled; then put a lid on and cooked for about 20 minutes, until quite soft (you can squish, they peel a bit by themselves), but not mushy. Didn't do any straining, just right into the pie shell. I used 3 tbsp flour, an extra tbsp, to make up for the extra water (the 1/3 cup) that was added with the grapes, and the recommended butter and sugar amounts. Cooked up great in 25 minutes and set well! Brushed top shell with milk before baking. So over all, a cheap, fast, and tasty pie. Guests will wonder what is in it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States