Righteous Raspberry Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Mmmm good brownies! Decadent and very rich! One small piece was enough for us! I've always loved the combo of raspberries and chocolate together so I had to try this. I used semi sweet chocolate chips and extra raspberries. It wasn't until I was reviewing the recipe that I noticed I only used one stick of butter instead of one cup but I don't think it affected the recipe at all and we don't need the extra calories, so next time I'm only going to use 1 stick of butter add 1/4 tsp of almond extract and try to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and see how it goes... We'll definitely make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made these for a family get together and got rave reviews. People came back for seconds and thirds! I didn't have any self-rising flour on hand so I used the substitution that Marianne suggested in the reviews. The substitution recipe for self-rising flour is also on this website. I also substituted frozen raspberries for the fresh. No need to defrost. Baking time was 35 minutes using a 9 x13 inch baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
EXCELLENT flavour and texture with the raspberries and chocolate chunks. These were a big hit with my kids and the pan was empty the same day. Thanks to previous reviewer Marianne, I also made my own self rising flour ….don't be shy with the chocolate and raspberries…delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These were very good. I couldn't stay out of the batter! I cut the recipe in half and used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1. As I didn't have chocolate chunks on hand, I used semisweet chips. I used an 8x8 pan which worked just fine. The brownies were a little more cakey than I like my brownies. I wish they were a bit more chewy and dense but was pleasantly surprised with the flaky top. The flavor was all there but I'm rating it just at 4 due to personal brownie preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I also made my own "self rising" flour and Special Dark coco powder as others had recommended. I used a mini muffin pan instead of a regular pan and put an extra 1/2 rasberry on the bottom prior to adding the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I'm always a bit skeptical of less tried recipes, but these really proved themselves. My family just could not stop eating them! I used Marianne's formula for self rising flour by adding 1/2 tsp salt and 1 1/2 tsp baking powder to 1 cup all-purpose flour (thanks Marianne!), regular sugar (not exactly sure what was meant by "superfine sugar"), semisweet chocolate chips, and about 2/3 a cup of fresh raspberries. They finished baking just under 40 minutes and they were perfect! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Snacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Five stars for the recipe as it is. It couldn't be simpler. I would give it a bonus star for the addition I made: I drizzled raspberry syrup over the top of the mix before baking, making a swirl. It added a perfect raspberry finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Big hit! Used full sugar (didn't seem TOO sweet but I may alter it in the future), frozen berries and the leavening combination listed. Rose up nice and fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I used dark chocolate cocoa and butter (rather than margarine). I was worried the butter would affect the texture, but wow, these were amazing!!! My husband responded that I could make these anytime I wanted. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabool, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Great moist brownie recipe! I made my own self-rising flour, cut sugar to 1-1/2 cups granulated and used real butter. I will be using this recipe in the future w/ nuts for the raspberries which I don't usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States