Rigatoni with Eggplant, Mushrooms and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This recipe was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Good base recipe but for me it needed more seasoning and garlic. I left out the olives and added artichoke hearts instead, because that's what I had. I always salt my eggplant first and let it sit in the sink in a colander. This draws out the eggplant juice. The juice from an eggplant can be VERY bitter when it cooks down. I also served with whole wheat pasta like many others said. I think I may try this recipe with Italian sausage or Italian seasoned turkey next time to add some protein. Overall, good recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was a very quick and easy dinner to make! Also a great way to use an eggplant that is on its way out. I used less goat cheese than called for, but it was still a wonderfully creamy dish. I also used a very basic jarred pasta sauce that I had on hand because I didn't have crushed tomatoes. Great way to jazz up a simple jarred sauce! I also omitted the olives because I didn't have them, but I think it would add a great saltiness--I added an extra dash of salt, but then again I eyeballed it to begin with. This will get made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was soooo good! I used organic crushed tomatoes and added some chopped garden tomatoes. I also substituted vegetable stock and, after the 30 minutes simmering, let the sauce cook down uncoverd til it was thickened. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Very quick, simple and delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Meh. I love the ingredients on their own but together they didn't do much for me. If made again, I'd use feta instead of goat cheese and leave out the kalamatas, they added too much saltiness for my palate (I love eating them on their own normally).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I loved the flavors, but cut back on the goat cheese. I added fresh basil and oregano. Also used less pasta to keep carbs and calories down. With those changes, it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
it was amazing although i added: 1/2 lb. of ground beef, doubled the mushrooms, 1 orange pepper, and instead of goat cheese i used provolone. before i added the eggplant and orange pepper i tossed it with oil, salt and italian seasonings then roasted them for about 10 mins, i semi cooked the ground beef and then when i had to cook the sauce for 30 mins i added the ground beef to it so it can finish cooking! great spin on the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessier12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
YUM! I used Feta cheese instead of Goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was wonderful!! I only used 2 Tblsp of olive oil and 6 oz of goat cheese but that is just because I am trying to cut calories and fat where ever I can right now. Also used basil and italian seasoning instead of Thyme because I'm not a big fan. This will probably enter our regular recipe rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States