Rigatoni with Eggplant, Mushrooms and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Doubled the garlic, halved the goat cheese and added some basil and black pepper. This is awesome. I need to feed a vegetarian friend tomorrow with the leftovers and I'm very happy I picked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Extremely yummy! - the feta (goats cheese) in it really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This turned out great! However, I followed other suggestions and made my own changes. First, I roasted the eggplant because I love the rich flavor of roasted vegetables. I pricked the eggplant and spread some olive oil over it before placing in a pan and baking it in my Krups combo oven at 375 degrees for 30 min. After letting it cool, I cut the eggplant in half lengthwise and simply scraped the meat off the skin - no peeling necessary! I also added more seasonings to the sauce and used the following proportions: 1 medium bay leaf, 1 tsp. each of salt & thyme, 1/2 tsp. each of rosemary, oregano & basil, 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. Other changes: 1 medium onion, 5 garlic cloves, substituted water for broth & increased amount to 1 cup, replaced goat cheese with feta. I also added some leftover frozen chopped spinach towards the end of the cooking time. I used penne pasta instead of rigatoni. I cooked the sauce for over an hour to reduce the extra water and let all the seasonings do their thing. It was really wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLYNX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is SO good. I didn't care for how it looked once I mixed in the goat cheese so if serving for company I would serve the goat cheese sprinkled on top instead of mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My husband and I enjoyed this....I used half of an onion, black olives, wheat pasta, and additional mushrooms, and it turned out great. Be prepared for a somewhat expensive meal though...the goat cheese is pricey (but worth it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Although it was tasty, it needed "doctoring" up for flavor. For the effort I believe there are better recipes recipes out there. Unsure whether or not I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was delicious! Increased the spices as suggested and loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was incredible! I have three little boys and they ALL loved this dish. I did have to peel the eggplant to disguise it a little, but otherwise I didn't really stray much from the recipe. We're adding this one into the rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Delicious! I added fresh basil once I took the dish off the heat, and used mushroom broth instead of meat broth. I wanted to make a vegetarian dinner for my meat loving family, so I picked this because it seemed hearty enough for meat eaters. It was delicious, and no one asked where the meat was, so it was a total success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Really enjoyed this recipe after modifications: took advice of others, and increased garlic and red pepper. Replaced chicken broth with red wine. Added a bag of arugula towards the end- added a nice spiciness and some more veggies! The goat cheese made the sauce nice and creamy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States