Rigatoni with Eggplant, Mushrooms and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Husband asked for it again and was sad when the leftovers don't get eaten. That's a success in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I added capers, red pepper flakes and did not add the goat cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is great, but if you are not a fan of simple flavors you will want to add more spices. I tripled the red pepper, added high-grade Greek Oregano, a splash of white wine, and vegetable stock in place of the chicken. I enjoyed it served over whole grain pasta without the goat cheese as a hearty vegan meal and my omni- boyfriend loved this with the goat cheese added. I also 'sweated' the eggplant for 20 minutes or so before simmering it in the sauce (it isn't much work and removes the risk of any bitter eggplant taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
As someone who likes goat cheese - I believe it's a 4 star recipe w/out goat cheese, 5 star with. Goat cheese definitely provides the texture. However, what I like about the recipe is that you can just leave the goat cheese out of the portion you're serving to anyone who doesn't like goat cheese - and they'll still love the sauce. Doesn't seem to freeze great for me (I've tried freezing without the goat cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
this was DELICIOUS! Big hit! We cut back a little on the eggplant, and doubled the mushrooms. And I think it could have used even more goat cheese! But then again, I LOVE goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
delicious recipe, i added basil and oregano, i missed out the olives and added spanish chorizo which added a lovely flavour. will definately make this recipe again, it was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Rigatoni is one of my all time fave pastas and this was a great recipe as it also included some of my fave flavors too. In addition to the crushed tomatoes I added in some tomato sauce. I added in veggie stock instead of chicken. I also added in more garlic. I also added in a bit of dry basil and oregano, fresh basil would have been a great addition but I was too lazy to go get some from the garden. Again great stuff, nice hearty fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I changed chicken stock to veggie stock and upped the amount of garlic and red pepper flakes. Besides that I left everything the same and I HIGHLY recommend leaving the kalamata olives (it salts the dish so you don't have to use so much salt). This was so good...my man loved it and had two huge helpings. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very tasty! Goat cheese is a staple in our home and this was a great mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I didn't have enough of two of the main ingredients (only had 2 mushrooms! and about 3oz of goat cheese) so I had to modify this recipe to some degree but what it became was wonderful!!! I tried halving the recipe but wanted to use all the eggplant so in truth I used the recipe halved, but doubled the eggplant (and - as it turned out - the cheese!). As I was so short of goat cheese, I used feta AND blue cheese so the cheese amount was actually doubled also. Oh and as I was cooking the sauce, it reminded me of a Putanesca sauce I make so I added some anchovies and two diced spicy Italian sausages. And I didn't have rigatoni, so I used rotini. Followed the rest of the directions though. Mmmmm good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States