Rigatoni with Eggplant, Mushrooms and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I discovered this recipe a few years ago when I was trying to figure out how to cook eggplant we had received in our CSA box. It was a hit from the first time and I have made it numerous times since then. It is simple enough to make during the week but it is delicious enough to make for company. This is one of my husband's favorite dishes that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Husband asked for it again and was sad when the leftovers don't get eaten. That's a success in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I added capers, red pepper flakes and did not add the goat cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is great, but if you are not a fan of simple flavors you will want to add more spices. I tripled the red pepper, added high-grade Greek Oregano, a splash of white wine, and vegetable stock in place of the chicken. I enjoyed it served over whole grain pasta without the goat cheese as a hearty vegan meal and my omni- boyfriend loved this with the goat cheese added. I also 'sweated' the eggplant for 20 minutes or so before simmering it in the sauce (it isn't much work and removes the risk of any bitter eggplant taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
As someone who likes goat cheese - I believe it's a 4 star recipe w/out goat cheese, 5 star with. Goat cheese definitely provides the texture. However, what I like about the recipe is that you can just leave the goat cheese out of the portion you're serving to anyone who doesn't like goat cheese - and they'll still love the sauce. Doesn't seem to freeze great for me (I've tried freezing without the goat cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
this was DELICIOUS! Big hit! We cut back a little on the eggplant, and doubled the mushrooms. And I think it could have used even more goat cheese! But then again, I LOVE goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
delicious recipe, i added basil and oregano, i missed out the olives and added spanish chorizo which added a lovely flavour. will definately make this recipe again, it was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Rigatoni is one of my all time fave pastas and this was a great recipe as it also included some of my fave flavors too. In addition to the crushed tomatoes I added in some tomato sauce. I added in veggie stock instead of chicken. I also added in more garlic. I also added in a bit of dry basil and oregano, fresh basil would have been a great addition but I was too lazy to go get some from the garden. Again great stuff, nice hearty fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! I changed chicken stock to veggie stock and upped the amount of garlic and red pepper flakes. Besides that I left everything the same and I HIGHLY recommend leaving the kalamata olives (it salts the dish so you don't have to use so much salt). This was so good...my man loved it and had two huge helpings. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very tasty! Goat cheese is a staple in our home and this was a great mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Walkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States