Rigatoni With Eggplant, Peppers, and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I really enjoyed this, it was easy to make and I plan on eating it often. I chose to not cook the tomatoes separately. I also used a little (lot of) extra garlic. Some of the people who commented that it was flavorless perhaps weren't as generous with the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Wonderful! (Once I omitted the eggplant) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Could have been beteer with lots more seasoning, garlic, salt, etc. Truly lacked flavor. My husband felt the same. i feel like I really had to cover it with Romano to give it the zip we were looking for. I'll keep looking for a similar dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Okay I made a few minor changes. I used whole wheat penne and green olives instead of black..the rest was followed spot on. Nice little pasta side dish for us! My family doesn't even care for eggplant but they ate this and didn't complain at all! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is a great recipe for those with extra tomatoes, peppers and especially eggplant. I made a few changes. Cooked eggplant in cast iron skillet along with peppers and garlic. I did add 2 tablespoons of tomato paste to the fresh tomatoes to thicken it up a bit since i didn't have 6 tomatoes and made do with 2 large and 14 cherry tomatoes. I think the eggplant is outstanding and the dish works! I also substituted a tablespoon hot chili oil for one of the 2 tablespoons used in the eggplant browning but that's just to our taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
OMG. i was great i used can tomatoes. and dried herbs. it was simplemente delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fragolita
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Flavor simply lacked. I ALMOST went with one medium eggplant, but decided that it just didn't look like it would be enough. so i added a second small-medium one, which i believe game me a good proportion with the full pound of pasta. given some of the other reviews, i think that the "seasoning" ingredients needs to be increased. i also used two cans of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, simply becasue it was on hand. it was a solid meal, and i could see the potential for greatness. i also topped it with some fresh Parmesan which was a big help. i also feel that it will most likely make a great cold leftover. DEFINITE for giving a second try. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Delicious and very easy. The cooking time for the eggplant seemed a little long though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was very easy to make. The only thing I would change is not using as many red peppers as it over powered the eggplant a bit. I would probably add mushrooms to this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was kinda like a vege spaghetti. Simple to make, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isch16

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Barilla® Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers & Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States