Rigatoni Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Wow, what an excellent dinner. After a 1/2 cup of fresh parmesean into the sauce to make it more "alfredo'y" I served this. Delicious I will definitely be making this for our Christmas gathering, perhaps even New Year's. Especially good for families used to big portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This was really simple and good. The hardest part was cleaning the spinach. I did add moer garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Wow this is great! I used half and half instead of heavy cream to save some calories, and it turned out splendidly. Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Excellent recipe! Very easy and very versatile! I used a thicker "garden style" spaghetti sauce that already had green peppers and mushrooms in it and instead of spinach, used a head of chopped broccoli. One could easily substitute shrimp for the chicken or just use a variety of veggies. Thanks Mary!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
My family loved this. I will cook it again but I think I'll add a little Madeira Wine for more taste. The cream sauce is adaptable- at my house 5 of us ate it with chicken and two with shrimp. If you don't have heavy cream, do not despair- I used Evaporated milk and it was smooth and creamy. An easy, tasty dish...Thank you, Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This was very good! I made a few small changes. I took advice from previous reviewers and I added 1/2 cup grated parmesan to the finished sauce, and I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. The sauce came out very creamy and thickened nicely. I also doubled the garlic and used frozen chopped spinach. It made a lot of sauce, and for once, a recipe that says it served 4 actually did. This would also be yummy without the chicken, as it took my husband several bites before he realized the chicken was even in there. Great recipe, I'm definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I cut the recipe in half and it would have fed 6 people. I also used half and half instead of cream as someone else suggested. The recipe says to cook the chicken, add garlic, add sauce then add chicken. I didn't remove the chicken and add it again. I left it in the pot and added Ragu 2lbs) and half and half (about 6 oz) I also added about 1/4 tsp of sugar to cut the acid in the sauce. The mozzarella wasn't really necessary. I added it at the end but it would have been great without it. I did add the parmesan. Also, the spinach really does cook down so don't be afraid to add alot. This is definitely a "keeper" recipe great to serve when company is coming and you want something delicious and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I made this last night and I thought it was pretty good. The sauce tasted like tomato soup until I added more spices. Husband ate the whole thing, the kids didn't finish theirs. Ok for a midweek meal - nothing I would serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY DEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This recipe is supposed to be creamy and fattening but good god. There reaches a point with cream where more just makes it heavier instead of tastier. Fat is good for carrying flavor to the tongue. Generally the more fat you have, the better flavor is carried, but only to a point. Once you cross that point, it just tastes like fat and nothing else. To improve this recipe I would a) use about half the prescribed cream, b) switch the mozzarella for parmesan, and c) add spices! (basil, oregano, black pepper, and double the garlic). Also, use a 4-6 qt saucepan instead of a skillet so that you can add the spinach all at once, lest it lose its flavor while you're waiting for some of it to reduce so that you can add more (my 12" iron skillet wasn't big enough). Even with my modifications, I doubt this recipe has the complexity and ingenuity to get any more than 3 or 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Very good; quite easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States