Ricotta Stuffed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
I love this one! I used a pound of fresh baby spinach instead of the frozen because that's what I had on hand. It came out delicious. My husband and children enjoyed this too. The 1 year old ate seconds. Thanks Whitney, I'll be making this one again and sharing it with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I made this for the second time tonight, and I made some changes. I almost doubled the spices, used fresh spinach, subbed cottage cheese for the ricotta and increased the amount slightly, increased the amount of Parmesan slightly, added some chopped provolone cheese, and added some Italian style bread crumbs to combat the soupiness. Also, half way through baking, I topped the halves with fresh tomato slices instead of sauce. NOW it was excellent, after a little tweaking. A very good basic recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
i made this dish for thanksgiving & everyone loved it so much that my mother-in-law requested i make it for easter. i ended up having extra spinach mixture leftover. the next day my husband put it on french bread and topped with tomato sauce. he popped it in the oven until it was warmed and it made a very yummy side dish for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe to play with. I made several adaptations and my boyfriend was really impressed! He said we should make it at our next dinner party. I used cottage cheese rather than ricotta and I used a strainer to reduce liquid, since many said it was soupy. I also added breadcrumbs to the cheese mixture. Microwaving rather than steaming the zukes saved time and two pots. Had to cook 20 min before adding sauce, then another 10-15 (I also topped with cheese and breadcrumbs). Endlessly adaptable and pretty presentation - I recommend you try this recipe and play with it to suit your tastes. I'll be using this all summer! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Well, the zucchini is starting to be harvested from the garden and am I ever glad I found this recipe! Hubby loved it and so did I. I only modified by adding a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese on top - other than that, I followed the instructions exactly. My son (who only likes peas & corn as vegetables) actually said, "not bad" and ate a serving himself. Hubby ate the leftovers as a late-night snack. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This recipe turned out pretty good. I expected it to be a bit runny as I used lowfat ricotta. But that didn't happen and I was pleased. The key is to steam the zucchini just enough to retain some firmness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Very yummy! I used lowfat whipped cottage cheese in lieu of the ricotta and added more parm than called for. I topped the casserole with shredded mozarella. Hubby and kids loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I used large yellow squash instead of zukes and didn't follow the recipe very closely but I did use all the other ingredients so I feel justified in leaving a review. It was not a difficult recipe but it used a lot of dishes so I will try to simplify somehow. Nevertheless, it is a very tasty, pretty and light entre. All you need is a loaf of crusty bread. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Excellent. I served this to a friend who doesn't like zucchini, and they loved it, and my vegetable hating teenager even admitted it was "OK." I used part skim ricotta, not whole milk, and of course I added more garlic as I do to everything. It actually took about 35 min or so to get nice and hot, not 20 min as in the recipe, but no big deal. Just depends on the oven, I suppose. Will definitely be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I used yellow squash instead of zucchini. This is an excellant low-carb recipe. Next time I'll put some extra cheese on top, but it's also delicious without. Tastes like a low-carb manicotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States