Ricotta Stuffed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
OJ taste but don't like the texture of the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Very tasty! I used home-canned marinara instead of canned tomato sauce and used only one egg instead of two. Other than that, I added all the other ingredients as written. I thought this was super flavorful and was a quick weeknight dinner. Next time I may melt some mozzarella or provolone on top. Thanks for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I used large yellow squash instead of zukes and didn't follow the recipe very closely but I did use all the other ingredients so I feel justified in leaving a review. It was not a difficult recipe but it used a lot of dishes so I will try to simplify somehow. Nevertheless, it is a very tasty, pretty and light entre. All you need is a loaf of crusty bread. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this last night and only made two changes, I used small patty pan squash and the yellow of the patty pan was a beautiful contrast for the green spinach. Also, I oppsed and forgot to put the sauce on it. It did not matter, it was really really yummy anyway. I will be making this again, next time for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Although my husband liked the filling, I was very disappointed. I agree that it was bland (even though I was a little more generous with the herbs, onion and garlic than written). The filling never "bubbled" and the tomato sauce just dried out on top of the zucchini. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
We just harvested a few monster zucchini from our garden; this was the perfect way to use them up! I used half ricotta, half cottage cheese, and baked it for a little longer than called for. I also did not steam the zucchini, but rather sliced it in half lengthwise and put it in the microwave a few minutes to cook after scooping out. I used fresh herbs from the garden as well. I recommend draining the frozen spinach and the cheese as well before mixing together. Overall a great recipe for the summer garden!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe to play with. I made several adaptations and my boyfriend was really impressed! He said we should make it at our next dinner party. I used cottage cheese rather than ricotta and I used a strainer to reduce liquid, since many said it was soupy. I also added breadcrumbs to the cheese mixture. Microwaving rather than steaming the zukes saved time and two pots. Had to cook 20 min before adding sauce, then another 10-15 (I also topped with cheese and breadcrumbs). Endlessly adaptable and pretty presentation - I recommend you try this recipe and play with it to suit your tastes. I'll be using this all summer! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend and I...We made half the recipe and we ate all 4 zucchini!!! It was SO YUMMY!!! I added a little cheese, and bread crumbs to the top.. I would make this dish again and would recommend it to family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This was great. I left out the spinach and added feta. I also found no need to submerge the squash in water to cool. I just waited a few minutes. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Wonderful! In order to shave off a few extra calories...I used low fat ricotta and reduced fat parmesan cheese...I also tossed a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese on top the last few minutes in the oven! It was so good I doubt one could tell the difference in the lower fat version as opposed to the fuller version! YUMMMMY! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States