Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe was wonderful. my dad's family is italian and when I served it to my zia (aunt) she loved it and said it was as authentic as nonna's ricotta pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
After having Italian friends and family from New York try this recipe and others, this recipe comes closest to what they are used to having. The strips along the top, or a top crust, is not authentic, at least not to the people I have asked, so they prefer the pie without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My crust would not stay together. Just crumbled. Resorted to frozen crust as I was pressed for time. Was looking forward to the sweet crust! Otherwise the filling was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I didn't find a THING wrong with this recipe,,it was easy,and probably the best ricotta pie I ever had,,Everyone LOVED it,I made one with chocolate chips and one without,,BOTH WERE FANTASTIC,thank you so much for posting! Don't change a thing about it (people that CHANGE recipes and complain about it,,tick me off...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I'm giving it a four star rating 'cause it was great tasting, but the ingredents are way to much for even two pies and also its better with out the strips on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I found this to be one of the best pies I have ever eaten.I am so looking forward to making for our next gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I really liked this recipe. My first time making pie crust from scratch. Definitely chill the dough for an hour prior to rolling it out or it will be hard to work with. The second time I made this I halved the recipe so that I didn't come out with three pies! I added lemon zest along with the chocolate chips to the filling. I think it's easier to use a cookie cutter to make cut outs for the top of the pie rather than the strips. It is a must to chill the pie for a few hours before cutting it, or else it will fall apart. The recipe is also missing an essential finishing touch: Powdered sugar on top. A big hit with my Italian in-laws for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fdr1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Just like I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCCI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this pie for a family gathering and it was a huge hit. It reminded everyone of my grandmom's traditional Ricotta pie. I have tried two other recipes since. This is still the favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Towaco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This recipe didn't work for me. Crust was too dry to roll. Didn't care for the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States