Ricotta Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great light, texture--and with the glaze (I just used fresh squeezed lemon juice with powdered sugar) they are so delicious! Very tangy matched against sweet. Yum yum! Careful you will eat too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
These are really good with a cup of tea or maybe some lemonade. They are also very easy to make. I had some leftover ricotta mixture from making stuffed shells, and even with spinach and parmesan cheese in the mixture the cookies came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These cookies are fantastic! I made a half batch and got 31 medium sized cookies. Like others, I used butter only in the glaze and part skim ricotta (what I had). I sprinkled the colored sugar on the cookies instead of dipping. With frosting, the cookies that were more crisp were better and the ones just barely done were better without. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I was surprised by how soft and cake-like these were! My husband and I love them! The only changes I made were to the icing: I used 2 tsp butter rather than a tsp each butter and shortening, and I sub'd almond extract for the lemon out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These were so delicious! I did add almond extract to the batter and just did a simple confectioners sugar & milk/water for frosting (personal preference). These reminded me of my Italian grandma's baking. Loved them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I love these homemade ricotta cookies! They are very cakey, yet crumbly and buttery. To highlight the lemon flavor in the glaze, you might want to add the zest of half a lemon! It freshens the cookie without a severe lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy_Songbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These are a lovely, delicate cookie with a delicious, buttery flavor and texture. I sprinkled some sliced almonds on the last batch for a more "grown-up" version. They toasted perfectly and made the cookie all the more delicate in form and taste. But my little boys loved teh candy sprinkles. Oh, and if you don't have shortening, all butter in the icing works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
no, no 4 cups of flour is all wrong; just wasted some good butter and ricotta plus a great deal of time. Cut the flour to 21/2 cups, or you will have the worst tasting cookies---all flour and the texture was just awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Wow, these are surprisingly good! It's a cake-like cookie that doesn't spread too much. I think the cookie has perfect sweetness without the frosting. I made the frosting with 1/2 tsp lemon oil for a half batch and hubby said it needed more lemon. I might try real lemon juice in the frosting next time for a more potent lemon frosting. I baked mines for 12 minutes (they're a bit huge) and they were slightly underdone at the top of the cookie. However, I LOVED the gooey underdone texture. It adds moisture, as if the frosting seeped into the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These are so fluffy and soft! They have a slightly cake-like texture and are delicately sweet and creamy. Delicious! I used the sugar cookie glaze recipe found here on Allrecipes.com and drizzled it over the top. Perfect! I chose not to add sprinkles because I thought it would be too crunchy for the delicate cookie. They are easy drop cookies to make, too. My family was crazy about them, will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States