Ricotta Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Delicious! Lovely spongy texture, and delicate flavor, make these very easy to eat. The almond extract in the icing adds just the right flavor interest. Makes a large quantity, but they freeze very well in a cookie tin (with waxed paper between layers, of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ararhonda
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I did add less butter by substituting applesauce for 1 stick of butter and they still came out quite good. Make sure you refrigerate the dough and use 1/2 tsp for measuring the balls. The flavor would be better with almond flavoring with the vanilla. Also, be quick to put the sprinkles because it hardens fast once you put it on the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
There are several problems with this recipe.I like to use 2 to 3 teaspoons of vanilla, not tablespoons. Also, I use 3 to 4 teaspoons of milk when making the glaze, not 5 tablespoons. Adjust the sugar and milk as needed to make a thick consistency. I had to make 2 batches of glaze to cover the cookies. I may have made the balls a little bigger because I only got 75 cookies and I had to bake for 15 min These cookies came out perfect and flavorful. I did not not beat the dough with an electric mixer. I mixed the ingredients with a spoon until well blended - din't over mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe!! I change it a little and everyone goes crazy for them... Add 2 cups sugar instead... Then I use lemon extract instead of almond and yummy! I also like the batter sticky.... Just drop them on cookie sheet in a tablespoon size ball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made it as written and yummy! I used a pastry brush for the glaze instead of scoops of it....less messy. Will definitely keep this for yearly Christmas cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbright059
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious! But the dough IS very sticky . I floured a piece of wax paper and took handfuls of the dough and kneaded some flour into it . Then I took about a tablespoon full of the dough and rolled it into a log and made rings . It def needs more flour incorporated into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbright059

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Yum, these are great. I used almond extract in the dough as well. For the glaze I didn't have powdered sugar so I made a simple syrup with a couple squeezes of fresh orange juice and drizzled over the cooled cookies, adds a fantastic flavor to the cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, but was disappointed in the result. Cookies tasted very bland; topping as directed was too runny to remain on the cookies and during the next few days, was absorbed by the cookie but still had little flavor...almond taste lost completely. Ok with a cup of tea. I also refrigerated the dough for easier handling. Not sure I will make these again, unless I tweak the recipe with orange or lemon zest. Liked the cakey texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Family wasn't a huge fan, bu it was a nice departure from our standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
As cookies, they were OK, keeping in mind I only had enough vanilla for 1T. I upped the sugar to 2C. After scooping out 4 trays of batter, I became impatient and put the rest of the batter in a 7X11 dish, baked at 350 for about 30 mins. I then poked holes in the cake and poured leftover butter sauce on it... Wonderful!! I prefer the cake to the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States