Ricotta Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These turned out really good! This dough is sticky, but I didn't add any additional flour. I followed a previous reviewer's advice and lightly greased my hands to roll it; I had no problems. The only thing I had to change was the baking time-it took them about 14 minutes to lightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Absolutely the best ricotta cookies I've ever made. I upped the oven temperature to 375 for high altitude baking, and they came out in 10 minutes exactly with a wonderfully fluffy cake texture. By the way, I used a cookie scoop which I dipped in flour between cookies, making it extremely easy. The perfect use for ricotta left over from cannoli or manicotti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
These cookies rocked!!! A sweet, soft, flavorful cookie that was also really cute to look at. I followed the directions to the ltr with the only innovation being 2 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. I made these originally because my grandma used to make them. They were virtually identical, maybe even slightly better (maybe, only maybe!). Will definitely make again. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! Only 1 small change...I would add slightly less milk to my glaze as I wanted it a bit thicker. other than that, perfect ricotta cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILSKA50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I think this recipe is terrific. The only additional flour I needed was that to coat my hands. The texture of the cookies is remarkable....so soft and fluffy, like delicate pillows. Half are gone even before frosting. A great break from chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
i made these for a cookie exchange party. they got great reviews. to say this recipe needed 'extra' flour is an understatement though. still a good cookie, just somewhat of a pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very disappointing :( First attempt the cookies required almost 50% more flour to make the dough workable--resulting cookies *looked* good, but were chewy and bland. 2nd attempt I barely let the flour incorporate to avoid stickiness and chewiness--this batch totally spread in the oven and made a flat, souffle like cookie. Neither was what I was hoping for...still searching for a dry, but tender version of this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACHERRE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
The tast was good but we couldn't taste the Ricotta. The cookie came out more doughy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
These were very yummy cookies! Nice texture and balance of sweet. Good recipe cept... I needed another 1/2 cup of flour for my dough to come together. And it took about 20 minutes for my oven to get the cookies lightly browned. *Tip: as the dough is very sticky to work with so using a mini-ice cream scoop to form the balls makes life easier. Also, make double the amount of glaze- you will need it. I had about 100 cookies and had to whip up another batch of glaze halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I had extra ricotta cheese from making another recipe, so went looking for something to use it up. Unlike other reviewers, I was not familiar with this type of cookie, but no more. The cookies were melt-in-your mouth delicious, great for afternoon tea and freeze well. I left off the sprinkles and halved the recipe. Thanks for the recipe Brenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States