Ricotta Cheese Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I added drained crushed pineapple. Many of my guests requested the recipe. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
THIS Ricotta pie was the perfect dessert after a roasted lamb dinner on Easter Sunday. The pie was light and airy. I used frozen strawberries as an optional topping. This is perfect if you love a traditional dessert but don't want something as heavy as cheesecake. I will keep this in my "active file.". Thank you, Linda C for terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
First let me say we like Ricotta cheese, but this pie is best left unmade. I found it basicly sweet w/o much flavor. My husband did not like it either. Use your time and ingredients for a more worthwhile dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I agree that this tasted like nothing. I used part-skim ricotta which was probably not a good choice, but I still won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was an awesome pie. My family raved about it and told me I had to make it for special occasions from now on (after I just decided to make it one night for no reason). I did, however, change 2 things to the recipe. I only had 1 cup of rictotta cheese so I used that instead of 1 1/2 cups and I also put the cinnamon into the blended recipe before baking. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelmarsie
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
i added a tablespoon of orange marmelade and a little apricot preserves, salt, and a dash of lemon juice for a flavor boost, and the results were pretty good, although i'm not crazy about the grainy texture of the ricotta. i might try this again with cottage cheese, using less milk. the pie is better chilled. this is a good, simple, inexpensive recipe for any occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this pie to serve at my New Year's Eve gathering, and now I wish I hadn't (I probably should have "tested" it first. Especially since I was kind of "skeptical" of the ingredients -- especially the vanilla -- from the start). It cooked up well (that was not the problem) but nobody (including me) seemed to like it. In the future, I think I will stick with my "traditional" ricotta cheese pie -- which includes rice, spinach and a very generous sprinkling of Parmesan cheese. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I work as a cook at a senior center. I made this recipe for them. They all loved it! It is like an old fashioned custard. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Ann
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Make it the night before and keep it in the refridgerator. It has a smoother texture the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good. I just made this tonight and it turned out wonderful. The only thing I did differently was I added just a bit of honey and a very small amount of lemon rind to the cheese mixture. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States