Ricotta Cheese Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
A great recipe, but even better with some additions. I followed the other reviewers' advice, and used lemon extract instead of the vanilla. Then, I tinted the icing with yellow food coloring, and I also added vanilla and lemon extract (1/4 tsp each) to it. I drizzled the icing over the tops of the cookies and then sprinkled confectioner's sugar on top of the icing to pretty them up a bit. The result was a tasty cookie that was easy on the eye, and even more pleasing to the tummy! Will definitely try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
I made these cookies for Easter with a few changes and they were fabulous! I added a tablespoon of grated lemon peel to the dough and used half lemon juice instead of milk for the icing. I tinted the icing yellow with food coloring and topped with pastel colored sprinkes. They were delicious and beautiful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
A variation of this recipe recently won top prize at a cookie exchange I attended. Fantastic cookies. The variation I have uses cream cheese frosting - 4 oz cream cheese, 1 Tbl butter, 2 C 10X sugar, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. It really adds to the wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
These cookies were good, and very easy. I made them a little less bland by making a simple glaze with almond extract, milk and confectioners sugar. They freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These cookies are great...wonderfully light and airy! I played around with some extracts, doing one dozen with lemon extract (topping with a lemon glaze and grated lemon zest), one dozen with maple extract (topping with a maple flavored cream cheese frosting and chopped walnuts), and another dozen with coconut extract (topping with a coconut infused vanilla frosting and fresh shredded coconut). They were all wonderful, but the coconut was my favorite! The flavor of these by themselves leaves so much possibility as far as flavorings go, which makes them perfect for me, even though others have mentioned thinking they "lacked something". A little imagination can turn a good cookie into a GREAT cookie and I think these have the potential for that! Thanks for the wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These are cake-like cookies, not your standard cookie texture and density, so don't expect the same consistency as a chocolate chip cookie. Also, the batter was very thick and my 100 watt hand mixer did not have enough power to handle the dough. I tried to make these a little lower in fat, so I reduce the amount of butter. That was a mistake. The cookies were too crumbly -- the butter is needed for moistness. These cookies have a mild flavor and do not taste very sweet without the icing. I mixed 3 T. of fresh orange juice with 3 c. of powdered sugar to make the icing. The citrus of the OJ was a nice complement to the cookie. I think almond or maple extract would also be good in the icing. After I get a new and better mixer, I'm going to try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Good. Just a very plain soft and cakey vanilla cookie. I followed recipe exactly, but didn't make the icing. The cookies are plenty sweet without it. They do not spread at all, so can be put close together on cookie sheet. Mine only needed 12 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I wasn't too thrilled with these cookies. They baked well and tasted good but needed something extra...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I made these for a Christmas party and 6 people asked for the recipe. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGONYEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Great recipe! Made cookies last minute for my daughter's Ricotta report she did in Italian class. Very moist and a big hit with students and the teacher. Grazie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States