Ricotta Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made the recipe as is except I used a lemon cake mix. In case there is any confusion, I used a total of 7 eggs. 3 in the cake mix and 4 in the ricotta. I made a simple blueberry sauce to server over it. The cake is moist and delicious. Raves from the crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious. So easy to make. Didn't change a thing. My husband dies not like ricotta so I didn't tell him it was in there. He just asked. Why is this so moist and I said cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Love this! I goofed and only bought one pound of ricotta and we didn't have any vanilla so my daughter used almond extract. The was excellent! It is now my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I make a small improvement to this cake too. I, too, only use half of the ricotta cheese amount but I also make this change. Ten minutes before the end of the cooking time, I mix 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar with 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and sprinkle this mixture over the top of the unfinished cake. Then I put the cake back into the oven to finish baking. This is a nice little addition to a vanilla cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My sister made it for our uncle's birthday party and it was a hit!!!! I think she made it with 3 eggs and it worked...Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I was extremely disappointed after making this cake. I followed the recipe exactly and used a Betty Crocker yellow cake mix. Warm out of the oven I thought it was very bland and my husband agreed (and he LOVES yellow cake). Gave it the benefit of the doubt and tried it the next day, but only marginally better. Maybe less ricotta and more vanilla might have helped, but next time I'll just stick with plain yellow cake. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
So happy to to came across this recipe today I first came across this recipe 10 years ago you had to buy a 1 (18.25 ounce) package yellow cake mix with the pudding in the mix and I add to ricotta lemon extract and lemon zest and another was is to add anisette I stopped making it because of the empty nest it was to much to have on hand but today I might make !/2 cake or cupcakes the I can make different flavors another snow days I bake I have used bunt pan and cake pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
A little too bland for me. It was a hit or miss with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Delicious! and easy! I use only 1/2 cup of sugar in the ricotta mix and also cover with foil half way through baking so the top of the cake doesn't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Ro

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
First I want to say only use 4 eggs total, 3 in cake mix and 1 in ricotta mix. The owner of this recipe should make this more clear, the ricotta mixture ingredients do say "eggs". This cake us awesome. I altered none of the recipe. Why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States